Popular Tags: convention [+] [View All]
Michael Leuchtenburg
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have let myself be convinced to run gaming at a local convention (http://www.pi-con.org/). While I've been working cons in a few positions for a few years now, I've never run gaming before. So, I have a few questions for you folks.

Firstly, do you know of any good gaming conrunning resources? Mailing lists, forums, wikis, other websites - whatever.

Space. I have a choice between two possible spaces: 3000 square feet during the day, moving entirely to 2200 square feet at night when there are some other events in the 3000' space. Now, obviously, having to move would be annoying, but is it worth the trouble to get the extra space? About how many people would you say I can get in those spaces? I'm currently estimating around 20 square feet per person, which would indicate that in 2200 square feet it should be possible to get 110 people gaming - a decent number - and moving up to 3000 square feet would get me up to 150. Given that our total attendance last year was around 200, and that there are other parts to the con (it's a scifi/gaming con), that seems reasonable. But is 20 square feet per person a good estimate? If so, I'll almost certainly go with the space that doesn't require moving.

What kind of organization of gaming do you appreciate? Would you rather see more organized tournaments, or more open gaming? Keep in mind that there won't be a thousand people at this event, so the chances of a tournament for anything particularly heavy are roughly nil, much as I'd enjoy seeing them. But outside of tournaments, organized tutorial sessions? Other organized gaming which I'm not even thinking of?

Prize support! If we are going to have some tournaments, or even just a raffle, it'd be great to get some games from companies. Any suggestions on which companies I should approach and which I shouldn't bother with?