Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Counter Reformation / Unrest rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthias Staber
Germany
Boeblingen
Baden-Wuerttemberg
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have three questions:

1. On p. 30, Counter Reformation Procedure, 1. Pick Target Space, the rules say: "Be adjacent to a space under Catholic inluence...", while the similar rules on Reformation atempts on p. 29 say: "Be adjacent to a space under Protestant religious influence (even if across a pass..."

So Counter Reformation attempts cannot target spaces across a pass? If this is the case, I am confused by the following sentence on p. 30, 2. Ad Up Catholic Dice: "The Papacy always rolls at least 1 die, even if none of the items above applies to the target space."

If my understanding of above rule is correct, there always will be at least 1 Catholic space adcacent to the target which is not across a pass.

2. Winter: Can units move into destination spaces (controlled fortified spaces / Capitals) which are in unrest? Do they suffer attrition if they do so? (rules on p. 33, 1. Check Stacking Violations: "The stack takes attrition (see above) if its path must CROSS a space in unrest..." The rules do not say "cross or move into"...


3. Just to be sure: Units cannot move from one non-Capital-friendly-controlled-fortified-space to another during winter, but only to their Capital, right?

Thanks very much in advance,

Matthias
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
1. The rulebook is in error on this one. You're interpreting things correctly. The "(even if across a pass..." phrase should have been added to the section on Counter Reformation attempts.

2. This is a very good question and I don't recall it being asked before. I would say that units CAN return to such a space (assuming it is under friendly control), but they would suffer attrition.

3. Correct!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Staber
Germany
Boeblingen
Baden-Wuerttemberg
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for the answers!

I have one additional question:

Do Capitals in unrest produce Winter Replacements?

Matthias
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Matthias Staber wrote:
Thanks for the answers!

I have one additional question:

Do Capitals in unrest produce Winter Replacements?

Matthias


Matthias: Sorry for the delayed response. This just came up in another game; I better rule on it right now!

The ruling is that capitals in unrest do NOT produce winter replacements.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bastos
France
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
And do units in a capital in unrest suffer attrition when winter comes ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.