Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » BoardGameGeek Related » BGG General

Subject: Expansion cataloging question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: expansions [+] [View All]
Matt Fullenwider
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
42
badge
I'm not a moccodity!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there a policy regarding how expansions are logged in the BGG database?

The Cathars mini-expansion for Carcassonne (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/13300) and The Courier of the Princess mini-expansion for Thurn and Taxis (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/25293) were/will be available in the Spielbox Carcassonne Almanac and the Spielbox 5/06 issue, respectively, yet they have their own entries in the database. The first of the mini-expansions for Blue Moon City is simply listed under the Spielbox Knizia Almanac which it is included in (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/25766).

Why didn't the Blue Moon City mini-expansion get its own listing? Is it because the previous two were/will be available outside of the magazine, or is it simply because the Blue Moon City mini-expansion doesn't really have a formal name (yet)? When the second mini-expansion comes out with the Spielbox issue 6/06 issue, will it get its own listing or will there be just one for the magazine?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it's a 'real' expansion, just add it to the database.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/UserCreateItem.php3
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Fullenwider
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
42
badge
I'm not a moccodity!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What's the definition of a "real" expansion?

I see things like the Heroscape promo figures (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/25153 & http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/25154) or Sir Bedivere for Shadows over Camelot (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/20857) are logged in the database. Does that mean things like the promo Majors cards for Risk 2210 could/should be logged? What about the four Frontline expansions for Risk 2210 that were given out to participants in a tournament campaign that was held at FLGS a couple years back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think they belong in the DB. They're just an extra figure. Likewise the Blue Moon Water Spirit shouldn't have an entry.

But adding/changing rules and adding cards or tiles or whatever should count.

See also: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/12050
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.