Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Blackwell
United States
Queens
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hoy now, fantasy trippers! I'm just getting started with Melee and am trying to learn the rules via a simple 1-on-1 battle. Things aren't going so well and I figure I'm misunderstanding the game...

Dwarf: MA 6, STR 13, DEX 11 (adjDEX 6) hammer, lg.shield, chainmail
Orc: MA 8, STR 14, DEX 10 (adjDEX 8) morningstar, sm.shield, leather

Basically these two are dancing around in circles swinging and missing 90% of the time and the whole thing is feeling pretty pointless.

My understanding is that ALL movement (including shifting) happens first for both players, then actions take place based upon that movement. Being engaged, each player can only move 1 hex while remaining adjacent (or move 1 hex away to disengage).

It seems that two combatants with non-missile weapons have little reason for doing anything but standing and attacking, and trying to roll 6-8 or less on 3d6 isn't exactly great odds, so we've got nothing doing here -- what am I missing?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It's been literally decades since I've played, but yes: in my memory, that's when the game gets less interesting. Try two fighters on each side, with a more varied assortment of weapons.

...or if you can find The Fantasy Trip: Advanced Melee, you can incorporate some of the advanced rules, e.g. targeting specific parts of the body.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
Note that this is a reason that, strategically, you might prefer wearing lighter armor... There's a tradeoff of increased protection at the cost of not hitting as accurately. If the other guy is hitting you so rarely, it could be wiser to hit him more often and not worry about so much protection.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Holder