Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Plunder» Forums » Rules

Subject: Prize ships and player combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Olsen
United States
San Luis Obispo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a couple questions regarding Prize Ships and Player vs. Player combat.

1) If a player is attacked by another player and decides to "cut loose" his Prize ship in hopes of making a speedy escape, can the attacking player now claim the Prize ship and any cargo that it was carrying?

2) During a combat between players, after the Broadside phase the winner of the phase decides to "sink" the loosing player's ship. Does this leave the sunk player's Prize Ship available to the winning player? Or is a successful Boarding phase required to capture a Prize Ship?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tripp Corbin
United States
Unspecified
Georgia
flag msg tools
malklavious wrote:
1) If a player is attacked by another player and decides to "cut loose" his Prize ship in hopes of making a speedy escape, can the attacking player now claim the Prize ship and any cargo that it was carrying?

Yes

malklavious wrote:
2) During a combat between players, after the Broadside phase the winner of the phase decides to "sink" the loosing player's ship. Does this leave the sunk player's Prize Ship available to the winning player? Or is a successful Boarding phase required to capture a Prize Ship?


You must board in order to capture a prize ship that has not be abandoned.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Olsen
United States
San Luis Obispo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tripp Corbin
United States
Unspecified
Georgia
flag msg tools
Always glad to help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Branch IngFactor
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
malklavious wrote:

1) If a player is attacked by another player and decides to "cut loose" his Prize ship in hopes of making a speedy escape, can the attacking player now claim the Prize ship and any cargo that it was carrying?


If the prize ship is cut loose during the engage step and you claim it, then you can't continue your attack on the other player's ship (ie., no broadside/boarding/plunder). Conversely, if you choose to press your attack on the other player's ship, the prize ship and its cargo is lost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.