Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Vegas Showdown» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1st Turn Income, 2-player variant questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
During the 1st turn, do players get $5 in the Collect Income phase, or does the turn start with Choose Action?

In Alan Kwan's 2-player variant, he mentioned that the neutral player "never bids equal to or higher than the starting-bid price of a tile. If the rolled premier tile has its minimum-bid price set equal to or higher tnan its starting-bid price, the neutral player does not bid with thie Bid marker this turn". I'm confused. Can somebody define starting-bid price and minimum-bid price in this context?

Thanks,
C.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernie Lai
United States
Forest Hills
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
okaraburger wrote:
During the 1st turn, do players get $5 in the Collect Income phase, or does the turn start with Choose Action?


i always play that you do collect income on the first turn. the rules specifically say not to do the lower prices step on the first turn, but they don't say that for the collect income step.

okaraburger wrote:

In Alan Kwan's 2-player variant, he mentioned that the neutral player "never bids equal to or higher than the starting-bid price of a tile. If the rolled premier tile has its minimum-bid price set equal to or higher tnan its starting-bid price, the neutral player does not bid with thie Bid marker this turn". I'm confused. Can somebody define starting-bid price and minimum-bid price in this context?


starting bid price is the number printed on the tile, minimum bid price is the price the red plastic circle is currently on. when a tile is first placed, those 2 numbers are the same, but the red plastic piece can go higher or lower because of event cards and the lower prices step.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The turn sequence for the first turn is as normal. Thus, you do get income. And before that, in a 4-5 player game, you draw an event card and a tile, and that event card can possibly change everyone's first turn income.

"Minimum-bid price" and "starting-bid" price are defined in the rulebook. The starting-bid price is the price printed inside a circle on the room tile. The minimum-bid price is the number covered by the red disc on the bidding track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanks Ernie and Alan. I played my first 2-player game yesterday. Will try to post a session report.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neuman wrote:
That doesn't quite make conceptual sense to me. How can you earn income when, at the beginning of the first turn, you have no tiles on your hotel. That is, your hotel isn't "open" yet (doesn't have any "rooms") when you reach the "collect income" phase on turn one, so what are you earning income on? I don't think people would stroll into an empty building and start giving you money right away!


Actually, I think that it is fitting with the theme. The fact that you don't start with population and income on zero indicates that the hotel is indeed open. It just doesn't have the casino and restaurant areas open yet. If you build nothing at all for the entire game, you will still collect income each turn, ostensibly from the rooms that are not portrayed in the game.

Quote:
In addition, if the designer's intent was to have everyone start with $25 in chips ($20 starting chips plus $5 income on first turn as suggested above), then why didn't the designer simply say to start with $25 rather than $20 and skip income the first turn (which makes more logical sense and is consistent with skipping the dropping of prices exception in turn one)?


I would guess it wasn't stated that way because it wasn't necessary. Unlike the dropping of prices, getting that income is not an exception to the rules. It would require more verbiage to explain the skipping of the income phase, which really doesn't have to be done.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Orleans
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Neuman wrote:
In addition, if the designer's intent was to have everyone start with $25 in chips ($20 starting chips plus $5 income on first turn as suggested above), then why didn't the designer simply say to start with $25 rather than $20 and skip income the first turn (which makes more logical sense and is consistent with skipping the dropping of prices exception in turn one)?


Because the first event is resolved before income is collected, and it might change income levels, so you won't always have $25.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DougOrleans wrote:
Because the first event is resolved before income is collected, and it might change income levels, so you won't always have $25.

The first events, combined with the first premier tiles, can have important and subtle impacts on the opening.

And your hotel rooms are, of course, in the upper floors of your hotel, and thus not portrayed on the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.