Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: A good Artifact after first battle ever? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Purple Paladin

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played our very first game tonight (A fist full of Dark Stone). After the first battle, we all drew a loot card. Our Gunfighter got the "What's This?" card;(Draw an Artifact card. Or a Gear card if in another world); The Artifact card was the "Otherword Artifact" (Draw an Artifact from the Targ Plateau Artifacts deck); He drew the Plasma Arc Pistol(worth $675).

Did we do this correctly? This weapons seems so powerful and expensive for the very first battle, in the very first game, for a level 1 character. And since he's the gunfighter, I believe he can now fire both his Plasma Arc and regular Pistol at the same time (with no Critical on either)?

Out next group of monsters, Void Spiders, never stood a chance after that.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jelley
United Kingdom
Hungerford
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Purple Paladin wrote:
We played our very first game tonight (A fist full of Dark Stone). After the first battle, we all drew a loot card. Our Gunfighter got the "What's This?" card;(Draw an Artifact card. Or a Gear card if in another world); The Artifact card was the "Otherword Artifact" (Draw an Artifact from the Targ Plateau Artifacts deck); He drew the Plasma Arc Pistol(worth $675).

Did we do this correctly? This weapons seems so powerful and expensive for the very first battle, in the very first game, for a level 1 character. And since he's the gunfighter, I believe he can now fire both his Plasma Arc and regular Pistol at the same time (with no Critical on either)?

Out next group of monsters, Void Spiders, never stood a chance after that.




This is correct and lucky.

Philip
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent Pascaud
France
Saint Aunes
Herault
flag msg tools
My friends call me "Sly" during games. I can't propose alliances anymore.
badge
My wife and I are offering painting commission services for your miniatures !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My Gunslinger also acquired the Plasma Arc pistol at level one, though it was from a Town Event where a merchant came back from another world. I bought it for a random price that I don't remember but was silly low.

And, yeah, that pistol works miracle with a Gunslinger. With Quickdraw, it happens often a bunch of monsters are killed even before the battle begins.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
you did it correclty
Loot is ver whimsical, you can get a precious artifact at times or only a tiny amount of gold at others or anything in between
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The plasma arc is pretty good on early levels, but its strength drops dramatically at higher levels. It is really only good vs small weak enemies like spiders and bats, and only before they start getting Elite abilities. Later on, it is generally better to get more shots.

Also, keep in mind that if the Gunslinger is dual-wielding, not only does he not get criticals, but many of his abilities require him to have an open hand in order to use them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Clark
msg tools
dvang wrote:
The plasma arc is pretty good on early levels, but its strength drops dramatically at higher levels. It is really only good vs small weak enemies like spiders and bats, and only before they start getting Elite abilities. Later on, it is generally better to get more shots.

Also, keep in mind that if the Gunslinger is dual-wielding, not only does he not get criticals, but many of his abilities require him to have an open hand in order to use them.

That only really matters if you took fanning. Quickdraw happens before the turn starts when new creatures are placed. So you get the quickdraw with a free hand, then at the start of the combat turn, you equip the second weapon.

It prevents a quick draw in the middle of the fight if there are reinforcements, but works to allow an initial attack and then dual wielding after that. It also means you can get a quickdraw attack, and then pull out an orb of Rokal to make your regular attack nasty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jelley
United Kingdom
Hungerford
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dvang wrote:
Also, keep in mind that if the Gunslinger is dual-wielding, not only does he not get criticals, but many of his abilities require him to have an open hand in order to use them.


Our Gunslinger "Redfire Jones" has a prehensile tail (counts as an extra hand) so he can have three pistols, or two and a free hand for fanning (if he had chosen that option), a pistol and shotgun combo, or a Quickdraw shotgun. We figured that the use of 2-3 guns counted as duel wielding, and the City of Ancients Adventure Book says "Quickdraw may only be used to make an Attack with *a Gun*" if he had a free hand as stated on the Quickdraw card.

Philip
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Canning
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Stand By, Ready
badge
Wolkenritter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philip Jelley wrote:
dvang wrote:
Also, keep in mind that if the Gunslinger is dual-wielding, not only does he not get criticals, but many of his abilities require him to have an open hand in order to use them.


Our Gunslinger "Redfire Jones" has a prehensile tail (counts as an extra hand) so he can have three pistols, or two and a free hand for fanning (if he had chosen that option), a pistol and shotgun combo, or a Quickdraw shotgun. We figured that the use of 2-3 guns counted as duel wielding, and the City of Ancients Adventure Book says "Quickdraw may only be used to make an Attack with *a Gun*" if he had a free hand as stated on the Quickdraw card.

Philip


You are missing the way the rules say the Quickdraw or Fanning weapon has to be a one handed weapon and that dual wielding only allows one to use two one handed weapons.

Those restrictions to one handed weapons are only applicable if you have more than two hands so they exist to cover the situation of having three hands.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jelley
United Kingdom
Hungerford
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dahak wrote:
Philip Jelley wrote:
dvang wrote:
Also, keep in mind that if the Gunslinger is dual-wielding, not only does he not get criticals, but many of his abilities require him to have an open hand in order to use them.


Our Gunslinger "Redfire Jones" has a prehensile tail (counts as an extra hand) so he can have three pistols, or two and a free hand for fanning (if he had chosen that option), a pistol and shotgun combo, or a Quickdraw shotgun. We figured that the use of 2-3 guns counted as duel wielding, and the City of Ancients Adventure Book says "Quickdraw may only be used to make an Attack with *a Gun*" if he had a free hand as stated on the Quickdraw card.

Philip


You are missing the way the rules say the Quickdraw or Fanning weapon has to be a one handed weapon and that dual wielding only allows one to use two one handed weapons.

Those restrictions to one handed weapons are only applicable if you have more than two hands so they exist to cover the situation of having three hands.


You are right about Fanning (but we have not used that), but for Quickdraw the only limitations are that you use "a Gun" and that one hand must be free, it does not say that it must be a one hand gun as the fanning card does.

Philip
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Canning
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Stand By, Ready
badge
Wolkenritter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philip Jelley wrote:


You are right about Fanning (but we have not used that), but for Quickdraw the only limitations are that you use "a Gun" and that one hand must be free, it does not say that it must be a one hand gun as the fanning card does.

Philip


You are right about Quickdraw.

Apologies on that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jelley
United Kingdom
Hungerford
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dahak wrote:
Philip Jelley wrote:


You are right about Fanning (but we have not used that), but for Quickdraw the only limitations are that you use "a Gun" and that one hand must be free, it does not say that it must be a one hand gun as the fanning card does.

Philip


You are right about Quickdraw.

Apologies on that.


That's Ok, and you were right on Fanning.

Philip
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.