roger cox
United States
Spartanburg
South Carolina
flag msg tools
OK, on turn 1 of the Campaign Game, Brits are in Boston with roughly an equal number of Americans one hex away. There's a Tory militia unit in range of the Fleet, so could the fleet shoot out of Boston, go to the port where the militia is located, embark him and bring him back? Conversely, on the American movement turn, they are in the same "boat" near Quebec. But they only have a bateau. Could they send the bateau down the river (alone), towards the American allied units in the western parts of the northern states, embark them, then bring them back up toward Quebec? What it boils down to is--do I, or do I not, have to have a unit "driving" the fleets/bateaux? Thank you, masked men.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carter
United States
Woodbury
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To your first question, the answer is no.
For a fleet to transport a ground unit, both the ground unit and the fleet must begin the turn in a port or the fleet needs to be on a hexside of the hex of the ground unit (if being embarked from a river, bay, or sea hexside). So a fleet cannot move to a unit and then embark it.

Regarding your second question, the bateaux also must begin its turn in the same hex/hexside as the unit it is transporting. The bateaux cannot "scoot" up or down river and the pick up and move a unit.

That said, there is nothing that prevents fleets and bateaux from moving on their own without ground units aboard. (kind of your third question)

Have fun with the game!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.