Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Brew Crafters» Forums » Rules

Subject: "If you take at least 2 ingredients from a market space." rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Martineau
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Maybe I'll just stay home and play KDM.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a power that gives me a bonus ingredient if I gather at least 2 ingredients from a market space. I also have a power that gives me a bonus ingredient if I gather at least 3.

If I gather 2 ingredients, gain my bonus ingredient, does that trigger my bonus ingredient for having taken 3? Technically, I have gathered 3 ingredients as a result of going to a market space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves LaFrance
United States
Greenacres
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording "if I gather at least 2 ingredients from a market space" would seem to indicate that the third ingredient is from the reserve/bank, not the market space.

This said, where did you see that? The only specialist I found was about two different ingredients, but nothing about three. Or maybe your question was about a potential expansion?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone ..................
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also believe that the 3rd one was not gathered but more gained, from another source.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Rosset
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RageGoblin wrote:
I have a power that gives me a bonus ingredient if I gather at least 2 ingredients from a market space. I also have a power that gives me a bonus ingredient if I gather at least 3.

If I gather 2 ingredients, gain my bonus ingredient, does that trigger my bonus ingredient for having taking 3? Technically, I have gathered 3 ingredients as a result of going to a market space.


Thanks for your question. I believe you are talking about the Basic Ingredients breakthrough research benefit and the Advanced Ingredients Breakthrough research benefit. The answer is that the bonus ingredient you got from the Basic Ingredients research does not count as a 3rd ingredient "from a market action space", because it didn't come from the market, it came from your research. So the bonus for "3 ingredients from a market action space" would not activate in this situation. However, if you did legitimately collect At least three ingredients from a market action space itself, like for instance, from the Advanced Market, then both of the research bonuses in question would separately activate on that action, giving you two bonus ingredients.

A similar situation involving skilled workers and research bonuses is covered in the rulebook FAQ. The general rule on all of these situations is that 2 or more abilities do not "chain", but they can all separately activate on the same action. Thanks!
15 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Martineau
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Maybe I'll just stay home and play KDM.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Ben.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.