Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M B
United States
Athol
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am fairly new to Board Gaming in general (as I played Computer games for years), and have yet to really get into what appears to be called "War Games." I have given up on virtually all computer games as Board Games require (IMO) so much more thinking and allow for across the table interaction.

I have looked for a 2 Player game as I find it very difficult to find people wanting to play Board Games very often.

Hammer of the Scots looks rather nice, but I have also been looking at Bonaparte at Marengo as an option.

Can someone tell me the basic difference between these two games and what the strengths/weaknesses of one are over the other?

Remember, I am just getting into Board Gaming and have not even played a gateway War game as of yet.

Thanks for the help.

Faithful

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Herbst
United States
Sayville
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In a very brief summary:

Similiarities -- they are both highly abstracted asymmetrical lighter wargames that play to conclusion in about two hours. They also both use concealed unit strengths to simulate the fog of war.

Differences -- Combat in Hammer is decided by die rolling based on the different characteristics of each unit. Combat in Bonaparte at Marengo has no luck involved in its combat. The activation of forces in Hammer is handled through each person's hands of cards (which also introduce random events into play); this is quite different from the activation system in BaM. Victory conditions in Hammer revolve around each side getting enough nobles to switch their allegiance by defeating them in combat. Victory in BaM for the Austrians is accomplished by destroying units and seizing key terrain squares while the French win by avoiding the Austrian victory conditions.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clark Millikan
United States
Mountain View
California