Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Witcher Adventure Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: What if I can't pay the gold? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chase Williams
United States
Spring Hill
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have investigation cards and monsters that make you pay gold. What if I cant?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
those bandits pick your pockets to find nothing! continue on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chase Williams
United States
Spring Hill
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SeerMagic wrote:
those bandits pick your pockets to find nothing! continue on.


Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space is intentionally left empty]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SeerMagic wrote:
those bandits pick your pockets to find nothing! continue on.
I have some more problematic scenarios:

What about the ship routes? I think you can only use them if you are able to pay the gold, but I want to make sure that's how others read it too.

What about cards that give you a choice? E.g. pay gold or become delayed (not sure about the actual card anymore, second choice could have been to suffer foul fate or some other bad thing)
Similar with VP, if I have 0 VP and get the choice of losing VP or something else can I chose to lose VP and remain at 0 since I can't go below that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to have the gold to take the ship routes.

If you have a choice but cannot do them, you must take the other. So pay gold or become delayed, if you have no gold you have to become delayed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chase Williams
United States
Spring Hill
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Our issue was stranger. I dont remember specifics but the card stated something close to, "Take 1 purple lead token, pay 2 gold, take one wound". If I cant pay the gold do I not get the purple token?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space is intentionally left empty]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SeerMagic wrote:
You have to have the gold to take the ship routes.

If you have a choice but cannot do them, you must take the other. So pay gold or become delayed, if you have no gold you have to become delayed.
Thanks Dustin, that makes sense. Could you point me to where exactly in the rules you found it?

igotdvds wrote:
Our issue was stranger. I dont remember specifics but the card stated something close to, "Take 1 purple lead token, pay 2 gold, take one wound". If I cant pay the gold do I not get the purple token?
I interpret the rules that in this situation everything happens independently, so you always take one purple lead, pay two gold (or one/none if you don't have two), and suffer one wound (or lose two VP if you can't)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
SeerMagic wrote:
You have to have the gold to take the ship routes.

If you have a choice but cannot do them, you must take the other. So pay gold or become delayed, if you have no gold you have to become delayed.
Thanks Dustin, that makes sense. Could you point me to where exactly in the rules you found it?


Under Spending in the RRG
"If an effect offers the player an option, the player can choose
only one of the options that he is capable of fulfilling. For
example, the foul fate card “Bushwhacked” states “Spend 2
or fight a battle!” If the affected player does not have 2 leads,
he must fight the battle."
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.