Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I activate a unit during distribute damage phase? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicolai Søndergaard
Denmark
flag msg tools
Played my first real game yesterday and were a bit in doubt about this.
There was a unit (Peasant I think) who had a +2 block ability.

If a monster attacks with 6 and the peasant has 3 block, can I use the +2 block during dmg distribution, to reduce the remaining attack to 1 instead of 3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Block does not reduce damage. You block all of an attack, or you don't block. If you don't block, all the attack becomes damage. Then you assign damage to armour, at which point block is irrelevant.

Peasants have an optional 2 block activated effect, and 3 armour. Please don't confuse the two.

Page 8: BLOCK PHASE > ASSIGN DAMAGE PHASE
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, an enemy attack must be blocked in full or not at all.

You can however use a units armour to absorb that much damage. The unit then becomes wounded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolai Søndergaard
Denmark
flag msg tools
Benkyo wrote:
Block does not reduce damage. You block all of an attack, or you don't block. If you don't block, all the attack becomes damage. Then you assign damage to armour, at which point block is irrelevant.

Peasants have an optional 2 block activated effect, and 3 armour. Please don't confuse the two.

Page 8: BLOCK PHASE > ASSIGN DAMAGE PHASE


Ah ok, so this particular ability is only useful during block and will do nothing when I assign damage.

So let's say the attack I need to deal with is 6 (and I have not blocked it).
Peasant reduce with 3 and take one wound, meaning there's 3 left to be handled. The optional 2 block can not be used for anything here?

Also, I guess I am a bit confused with armour/block. Does this mean, that in the block phase, the 3 armour is not what I used to try and block the attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nicoolai wrote:
Ah ok, so this particular ability is only useful during block and will do nothing when I assign damage.

So let's say the attack I need to deal with is 6 (and I have not blocked it).
Peasant reduce with 3 and take one wound, meaning there's 3 left to be handled. The optional 2 block can not be used for anything here?

Also, I guess I am a bit confused with armour/block. Does this mean, that in the block phase, the 3 armour is not what I used to try and block the attack?

I did start typing an answer, but then I figured this would be more useful. Apologies for the weird artifacts, the pdf doesn't seem to like double f's.
BLOCK PHASE
1. After performing any Ranged and Siege Attacks, the Block
phase begins. In this phase, all enemies that have not been
eliminated get to attack, but players have the chance to actively
counter the attack of one or more enemies by using blocks. A
Blocked enemy deals no damage in the Assign Damage phase.
2. For each enemy with the Summon icon, draw a brown
enemy token and add it to the enemy group now.
a. For both the Block Phase and Damage Assigning Phase, the
summoned monster replaces the summoning enemy.
b. As long as the summoned monster is present, no eƲ ect can target the enemy that summoned it. The summoned
monster can be targeted normally.
3. Choose a single attacking enemy to block.
4. Play any number of Blocks of any elemental type – Fire, Ice,
Cold Fire, or physical.
a. Play cards that provide Block from your hand (you can
power them with any available mana), use Block Skills, or
activate any Units with Block abilities. Stack these eƲ ects together in a column to help keep track of your total.
b. Any card (except for a Wound) can be played sideways to
the column as Block 1. Sideways cards are always physical
Block, never a block of an elemental type.
5. Determine the total Block value of all played eƲ ects.
a. Against elemental attacks, only certain Blocks are fully eƳ cient:
• Any type of Block is eƳ cient against a physical
attack
yp .
• Only Ice or Cold Fire Blocks are eƳ cient against Fire
Attacks .
• Only Fire or Cold Fire Blocks are eƳ cient against Ice
Attacks .
• Only Cold Fire Blocks are eƳ cient against Cold Fire
Attacks old .
b. IneƳ cient Blocks are reduced by half. When totaling the
´ nal Block value, total the values of all ineƳ cient Blocks,
divide by two (round down) and then add the full values of
all eƳ cient Blocks.
6. The Block is successful if the total value equals or exceeds the
attack value of the chosen enemy.
a. If the enemy has the Swift ability , its Attack value is
doubled for the purpose of blocking.
7. A successfully blocked enemy token is set aside. Its attack
was stopped and it will do no damage during the next phase
of combat. However, it is not eliminated yet. You will have a
chance to eliminate it in the Melee Attack phase.
a. If a summoned monster is successfully blocked, discard it to
the corresponding discard pile (but gain no Fame).
8. If your Block total is lower than the Attack value of the enemy
you are attempting to block, it has no eƲ ect. You cannot lower
the Attack value by playing Blocks – you either block it fully, or
it goes through at the full strength.
a. Sometimes a blocking card will have eƲ ects other than
adding to your Block total. Unless stated otherwise, these
eƲ ects apply whether or not the block was successful.
9. You may block any number of attacking enemies during this
phase. Any enemies you wish to block are resolved individually;
you cannot block multiple enemies at once.
ASSIGN DAMAGE PHASE
1. Any enemies that are still alive and unblocked deal damage
from their attacks during this phase.
a. If there are none, skip this phase.
b. Otherwise, process all unblocked enemies one by one in
whatever order you choose.
2. Each enemy deals damage equal to its Attack value.
a. If the enemy has the Brutal ability, it deals twice as
much damage as its Attack value.
3. You must assign all damage. You can assign damage to one or
more of your Unwounded Units. The rest is assigned to your
Hero.
4. You can assign damage to a Unit as long as it is not Wounded. Unwounded Spent Units can have damage assigned to them.
a. Whenever a Unit is assigned damage, put a Wound card
on that unit. A Unit becomes Wounded regardless of how
much damage was actually assigned. Then, reduce the
damage total by the Unit’s Armor value.
• Assigning just one point of damage can Wound a Unit
with a high Armor value. Armor value simply determines
how much damage remains after the Unit is Wounded,
if any.
b. Exception: If the Unit is resistant to the elements of the
attack (Physical resistance vs. regular physical Attack, Fire
Resistance vs. Fire Attack, Ice Resistance vs. Ice Attack, both
Ice and Fire Resistances vs. Cold Fire Attack):
• First , reduce amount of the damage by the Unit’s
Armor (without Wounding the Unit).
• If this absorbs all the damage, nothing happens.
• If there is any remaining damage, continue assigning
damage as usual by Wounding the Unit and reducing the
damage total by its Armor value again.
– Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb
twice as much damage as they have Armor, and are
Wounded only if the damage was greater than their
Armor.
• If a Unit is assigned damage but does not get Wounded
because of a resistance, it cannot be assigned damage
again during the same combat.
5. If you cannot or do not want to assign damage to a Unit, or if
there is still damage left over after assigning damage to your
Units, you must assign all remaining damage to your Hero. This is done repeatedly until all damage has been assigned:
a. To assign damage to your Hero, put a Wound card in your
hand and reduce the damage total by your Hero’s Armor
value (the left number on your Hero’s Level token).
• As with Units, even if the assigned damage is lower than
your Armor value, your Hero must still take a Wound.
b. Repeat the above process until all Damage has been
assigned. EƲ ectively, you will take one Wound for every X
points of damage (where X is you Armor), rounded up.
c. Knock out: If the number of Wound cards added to your
hand during a combat equals or exceeds your unmodi´ ed
Hand limit (the right number on your Hero’s Level token),
you are knocked out – immediately discard all nonWound
cards from your hand.
• Wounds received from other sources (for example: The eƲ ects of some cards played during combat) also count
towards knock out.
• While knocked out, your Units may continue to ´ ght,
you can use any of your Skills, and you continue taking
Wounds if you have to assign further damage to your
Hero.

7. The phase ends when you have assigned the damage from all
unblocked enemies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolai Søndergaard
Denmark
flag msg tools
Benkyo wrote:

I did start typing an answer, but then I figured this would be more useful.

I wish you'd written your reply .
I have the rulebooks and have been reading, but I'm still somewhat confused.
SO, to clear things up:
The value marked with red, this is armour? I cannot use this to block an attack? It only functions to reduce remaining attack during damage/wound distribution?

The value marked in green, I can only use during block phase (or attack for the attack value), and it will not do me any good when I need to handle the (non-blocked) damage?

2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolai Søndergaard
Denmark
flag msg tools
Benkyo wrote:
That is correct.

Ah, I have totally played wrong then
I thought the armour value counted as block as well.

Well, thank you very much for dealing with my total cluelessness
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alison Mandible
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another difference between the two is: the "Attack or Block 2" is an ability, and can only be used if the unit is ready, i.e. the command token is above it. The armor, on the other hand, is not an ability; even when the unit is unready (i.e. it already used an ability this round; your command token is sitting on the card itself), you can assign damage to it and have it take a wound.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.