Wait, what makes it different, planets give you one for each ship as well. Regardless, is my print and play old or something? I can't find any mention of galaxies generating energy in the rules. Makes sense obviously given that little icon, but I would have thought it'd be laid out someplace.
Right, but you can only have a max of 2 ships per planet (one on the surface, one in orbit), and there is no limit for the galaxy. You can have three or four ships and collect for all of them. Since ships return to your home galaxy after colonizing (or the planet on whose surface they were landed is colonized), you can almost always collect energy.