Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Paths of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advance rules into fort rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve
United States
Flagstaff
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Base rules question; this may be more obvious than it is to me, sorry if it is.

I have two full strength Russian armies that can advance on a fort, strength 3 fort. I only want to advance one. This is a very basic ruling but it's worded a bit oddly for me. There's nothing in the FAQs and I have the most recent rules:

"15.2.1 To besiege an enemy fort, either at least one
Army or a number of Corps equal to the fort's LF
must enter the fort's space during a single Action
Round and then stop movement. For example, to
besiege Verdun, a CP army (full strength or flipped) or three CP
corps (full strength or flipped) would be required. Place besieged
fort markers to help identify that a fort is besieged."

Specifically, the first line--"either at least one army or a number of corps equal to the fort's LF must enter the fort's space during a single action round and stop movement."

So does that mean any army, regardless of LF, can advance into a fort space? Or does it mean the army (and/or corps) have to meet LF minimums as well?

Thanks for your help guys, sorry for such a basic question!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul - the
Sweden
Lund
flag msg tools
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings; Look on my Works, ye Mighty, and despair!
badge
You spin me right round, baby - Right round like a record, baby - Right round round round - You spin me right round, baby…
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garysax wrote:
So does that mean any army, regardless of LF, can advance into a fort space?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
Flagstaff
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, that was my read on it as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Romaniecki
United States
Attleboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
More often than not a literal reading of the rules will be correct.

The sizes of the besieging units not their loss factor is important. An army can always besiege a fort. For a purely corps force to besiege, one corps is needed for each loss factor of the fort.

Make sure that you understand the different conditions under which a fort may be attacked.

Attacks are resolved during a turn and sieges at the end of the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
Flagstaff
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll have to talk with my opponent currently. It will become important when low LF armies come into play. I'm looking at you, Italians.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M@tthijs
Netherlands
Venlo
flag msg tools
This user is outstanding in mediocre videogaming
badge
Did you visit my www.kobudovenlo.nl? It has game info
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garysax wrote:
I'll have to talk with my opponent currently. It will become important when low LF armies come into play. I'm looking at you, Italians.
? Italian armies in PoG are too busy defending Italy (and dying for it, for that matter) to besiege CP fortresses
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.