Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Terra Nova» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scoring an 'island' stone in a territory? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Knox
United States
Greenville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
If a territory is formed and in the middle of it there is a standalone stone (not touching any of the borders of the territory), do you count the space with the stone or not?

This is relevant when you are stuck with one meeple in an almost-territory and someone else has two... your one meeple can go around placing stones to reduce the value of the territory before it can be closed. If you do not score the stone spaces, the value-reducing meeple can place stones just anywhere; if you do score the stone spaces, the stones would have to be placed along the edge of the territory, shrinking it.

We've been playing that you do not score it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Until I hear an official response, I think you should not score any "floating" spaces under the stones. If someone wants to waste their actions reducing YOUR territory before it closes rather than help themselves elsewhere or try to get another man inside, they are just hurting themselves. Like you said, Jeff, you can always place stones on the edge anyways, and the chances of not being able to move to an edge are very small.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No covered spaces count for scoring according to any sane interpretation of the rules as well as the FAQ at:
http://www.winning-moves.com/Images/TerraNova_FAQ.pdf
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.