Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: 14.311 Yugoslavia Minor Axis Power? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drummond McCunn
United States
Granite Bay
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hopefully, Mr.Young will peek in at this post and provide some of his most excellent customer support! goo "The lidless eye of Sauron?"

Under 14.311 Optional Minor Axis entry, the Axis suffers a -2 roll modifier if it attacks a Minor Axis Power.

Yugoslavia is listed as one of the countries rolling as an Axis Minor Power. However, in the basic rules Yugoslavia is clearly NOT a Axis Minor Power. So, if you DOW Yugoslavia do you then get the -2 modifier and basically lose all of the other Axis Minors?

This seems to make the new Optional Rule mostly punitive against the Axis. There is no upside to this rule other than historical flavor.

The issue:
In the basic rules: all the axis minors go to Germany after the fall of France.

In the advanced rule: the axis minors only go to Germany on a roll. If Germany does anything aggressive, like take out Spain, the Axis Minors may waiver. If Yugoslavia is considered a Minor Axis Neutral it would preclude any other Axis Minor Neutral from going to war absent other modifiers.

Historically, Rumania and Hungary join the Axis in November 1940 (better reflected in the advanced rules). Bulgaria joined the Axis in April 1941 just before the Yugoslavian invasion in late March 1941.
So, the game rules basically force the Axis to wait to take out the Yugos until their Balkan front is established or otherwise forego that front? This would make some sense for the Balkans, so the rule sort of works. However, Yugoslavia went through a revolution throwing out the pro-Fascist government. The Axis responded with invasion. If this had happened pre-Axis bloc joining of a minor power, would it have precluded a nation from going Fascist? I would argue that it would not, but it might have delayed the bloc forming. That would be more like a -1 rather than a -2 modifier.

[We won't get into how the Med supply rules virtually preclude the ill fated Italian invasion of Greece! Should Albania be a supply source? Otherwise, you would have to be truly silly to go there and not defend North Africa.]

Finland, however, does not make sense under the advanced rules. First, Finland allowed German units to attack Murmansk during the initial Barbarossa invasion and eventually joined in on June 1941. They only retook what was lost or advantageous defensive positions so the limitations on attacking Novgorod seem reasonable even if frustrating to not use those pretty infantry divisions! However, Yugoslavia had been invaded already! Therefore, Finland could not enter the war under the Advanced Rules if the -2 applied to a DOW on Yugoslavia! It would be neutral to permanently neutral at best!

So, either a) Yugoslavia is not an Axis Minor Power for purposes of the -2 modifier for DOW or b) the -2 modifier should not apply to Finland, or c) the modifier should be reduced.

This is coming up a lot in my games as I keep sinking France during back to back snow turns in the winter of 1939 giving me the opportunity / desire to get to Greece.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yugoslavia is listed as one of the countries rolling as an Axis Minor Power. However, in the basic rules Yugoslavia is clearly NOT a Axis Minor Power. So, if you DOW Yugoslavia do you then get the -2 modifier and basically lose all of the other Axis Minors?

No, though you are correct that the rules do not reflect this exception for Yugoslavia. I'll have to add it to the errata.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drummond McCunn
United States
Granite Bay
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks Rick!

EE is awesome and your support as well.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.