Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Firefly: The Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using Gambling Gear rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Games Afoot
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the last game session we had play testing gwek's new ships a question came up about using your gambling gear. I thought that I remembered reading that it used a Work Action, like making work, to use the gear. That evening I couldn't find it in the rules or the FAQ, so we went with that. He called me today and asked if I had found the ruling on using Gambling Gear. I searched these forums and came up blank.

Am I loosing my mind? Is my search fu out of harmony? Does anyone have a ruling on that and can share where they found it?

Thanks,
T
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I don't think use of Gambling Gear is explicitly addressed in the rules. As written, you would not need to spend an action of any kind.

Are you perhaps thinking of one of the versions of my Onboard Casino, which allows you to either use Gambling Gear as normal (discard to use, no action) OR use a Work action but not Discard?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Games Afoot
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it came up with Tom using the Onboard Casino to use the Friendly Game of Cards and not having to discard it. It seemed that doing both a Work Action to "do dishes" and then using (and keeping) the Gambling Gear would be a tad much.

Maybe I did read it on of the versions so the Aces & Eights
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If you're using the most recent version of the Onboard Casino, using Gambling Gear without Discarding it requires a Work Action, so you could not also use Make-Work.

But if there is abuse, I imagine it's the ability to recycle the Gambling Gear more readily. On the other hand, it still costs an action (same as constantly re-buying it), so the main advantage is being able to re-use it anywhere, rather than just on a supply planet.

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Games Afoot
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just double checked the Onboard Casino upgrade card, that is where I read it. LOL Using the card as it is didn't seem to be an issue. He had a run of pretty good luck on the 4-5 times he used it and while it was a touch annoying it wasn't unbalancing. And by requiring the added Grifter as crew I think that it is fine as is. It was mostly knowing that I had read the Work Action bit but couldn't find it again.

I have had two of the guys from last weekend call to see if we were going to do any play testing this weekend. And one was Bob, the guy that had the terrible luck last weekend.

I will keep you posted back on the play testing thread so things are all in one place.

Thanks for clearing my ragged memory up. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.