Subject: Caverna-style family member scoring? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Ham
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
mbmbmbmbmb
So we GREATLY prefer Agricola to Caverna, but one thing I liked a LOT about Caverna was the scoring change where family members are only worth 1vp instead of 3.

I'm far from an expert in the ways of Agricola, but I'm wondering if anyone besides me thinks this change might be a good one to retrofit back to the 'gric? I'd so like to make smaller families a more viable path than they currently are... it's my only real complaint about the game, that we always end our 2p sessions with each of us having 5 (sometimes 4, but usually 5) family members.

Thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ArrBeeDee Dial
United States
Lexington Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
I am working on overcoming my AP. Here is my 'to do' plan ...so far: 1).
mbmbmbmbmb
Come over the Dark-Stone side... its nice and comfortable... See, pillows and Sheep to snuggle with...

I have nothing to add WRT the question. Just friendly banter.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you'd end up with games scoring, on average, about 6-10 points lower per player. I don't really see a lot of advantage to that.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suzy Vitale
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
When empty, please refill with tea.
mbmbmbmbmb
On one hand, it would relieve a little bit of the points pressure to get those extra family members. On the other hand, you still feel pressure to get extra family members for their extra actions.