Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Blocks in Afrika» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on Desperate Attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Emanuele,

If a OOS Tech 2 unit makes a Desperate Attack, can it move in any direction to make that attack? Even further away from the supply lines?

If the unit is an armor unit and the Desperate Attack is successful, can it then conduct a Blitz attack? For example, in BIA Scenario 6, could the OOS DAK make a Desperate Attack into the hex where the Free French infantry is located and then, if successful, conduct a Blitz into Tobruk?

Greg

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes of course.

OOS TECH 2 combat units have two only penalties (except that they surrender at the end of turn is still OOS):

1. they have Movement Points halved
2. if they attack, then the attack is a Desperate Attack.

The situation in that scenario, describes what Rommel had to face in the days immediately before the capture of Tobruk, when - after having dispateched the best of his forces - he realized that they were not resupllyable, as the fierce French were holding on at Bir Hackeim.

ALL THE BEST

emanuele
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mirko Valmori
Italy
Faenza
RA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another couple of questions:
- Do OOS Armor have only 1 MP if not Fueled by an HQ?
- Don't Desperate attacking OSS units surrender after the 1st round of combat if the fail to clear combat hex from enemy units?

PS: Going OOS with German Armor Units in Winter is a VERY BAD IDEA!!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
valmorix wrote:
Another couple of questions:
- Do OOS Armor have only 1 MP if not Fueled by an HQ?
- Don't Desperate attacking OSS units surrender after the 1st round of combat if the fail to clear combat hex from enemy units?

PS: Going OOS with German Armor Units in Winter is a VERY BAD IDEA!!!


Yes to all three Mirko:

- Do OOS Armor have only 1 MP if not Fueled by an HQ?

Yes, they are Quartered (4MP/2/2)



- Don't Desperate attacking OSS units surrender after the 1st round of combat if the fail to clear combat hex from enemy units?

YES. It is a Desperate Choice indeed.



PS: Going OOS with German Armor Units in Winter is a VERY BAD IDEA!!!

YES!!



ALL THE BEST


emanuele
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
It looks like the reward for a non-fueled Tech 2 armor unit making a successful Desperate attack is that it can then make a Blitz attack even though it isn't fueled and technically still out of supply. Right?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right.

In the Desert War, as you know better than me, fuel and supply have been a tedious issue for all the campaign - expecially for the Axis - , thus Rommel's audacity can make the difference.

ATB

ema
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.