Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Istanbul» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a family member benefit from a bonus card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bartosz Glocked
msg tools
There are cards that allows you to use palace/gem dealer action twice. Can a family member take those for me as well ?

I could not find an answer on that question in the rule book,
But I think it is possible (however got no evidence for that).

Unfortunately in my last game my colleagues did not allow me to do so, and I lost the game because of that.


Thanks in advance,
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Starek
Czech Republic
Sezimovo Usti
flag msg tools
badge
REALLY badass
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am quite convinced you can use cards even when playing with family member and we always played it and several times demo'd it that way.

While it's not stated clearly, see the formulation under a card:

If you carry out
the action at the Sultan’s
Palace 13
, after
completing the action,
carry it out one more
time.
The number of goods to
deliver to the Sultan
increases after each action.

...and the formulation describing the action of 12-Police station:
If your Family member is in the Police Station,
“free” it and send it to another Place.
Then carry out the action of that Place.

This looks to me as specification it doesn't matter whether it's family member or your merchant, who triggers carrying out the action, only the very carrying out matters.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seconded!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bruhn
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
fallenstar wrote:
There are cards that allows you to use palace/gem dealer action twice. Can a family member take those for me as well ?

I could not find an answer on that question in the rule book,
But I think it is possible (however got no evidence for that).

Unfortunately in my last game my colleagues did not allow me to do so, and I lost the game because of that.


Thanks in advance,
Official answer: Yes, a family member can use all your abilities (Mosque tiles, Bonus cards)
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Gilutin
United States
Alhambra
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's my understanding that the only thing a family member can't do is have confrontations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jérôme
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jvdv wrote:
Hm, today we played we couldn't, due to the wording in the rules, assuming that "you" referred to you the trader, and a family member is not the trader.


Yesterday we had a discussion about this rule, and my reading of the rules was exactly what you stated. But since I was winning anyway, I let it go

So, today I checked BGG (the great haven of knowledge) and found this thread. Maybe the Dutch translation is a bit off, but I'm happy that Ralph gave a clear and official answer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.