Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Tzolk'in: The Mayan Calendar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Game setup order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michał Pietrzak
Poland
Zgierz
flag msg tools
badge
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confused with rules about game setup.

What is the correct order of setting up elements before starting game? In manual this is described in order:

1. Starting Wealth Tiles
2. Player markers
3. Buildings & Monuments
4. Dummy Workers (optional)

That means players draw their starting resources when they don't know available buildings and monuments in the game and I play this version being stick to the manual.

In the online version at boiteajeux.net buildings and monuments tiles are visible during choosing starting wealth tiles.

Which version is correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the English rules, the board is completely set up before the players get their starting wealth tiles. So the online implementation is correct.

"After setting up the game (including revealing buildings
and monuments) mix up the Starting Wealth Tiles and deal
4 secretly to each player."
6 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MavL
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is what the english rules say on page 5 under "Starting Wealth Tiles":

Quote:
After setting up the game (including revealing buildings and monuments) mix up the Starting Wealth Tiles and deal 4 secretly to each player. Each player chooses 2 to keep and discards the other 2.

That should answer your question.

Edit: ninja'd
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Pietrzak
Poland
Zgierz
flag msg tools
badge
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DoomTurtle wrote:
In the English rules, the board is completely set up before the players get their starting wealth tiles. So the online implementation is correct.

"After setting up the game (including revealing buildings
and monuments) mix up the Starting Wealth Tiles and deal
4 secretly to each player."


Thank you, I missed this somehow when re-reading manual and got confused.

Thanks for quick reply!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaime Mayol
United Kingdom
Blandford Forum
Dorset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And what about the placement of dummy workers? Do you pick your wealth tiles before or after to see where they are placed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Pietrzak
Poland
Zgierz
flag msg tools
badge
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaime Mayol
United Kingdom
Blandford Forum
Dorset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Silvi
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Test
Impossible. Dummy workers must be placed after players had received their wealth tiles, because dummy workers are placed with remaining tiles!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
leles wrote:
Impossible. Dummy workers must be placed after players had received their wealth tiles, because dummy workers are placed with remaining tiles!
Yes, but you don't have to choose which two you want to keep until the dummy workers are placed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Silvi
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Test
Are you saying that I receive my 4 tiles but I don't look at them until dummy workers are placed?? Really?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Pietrzak
Poland
Zgierz
flag msg tools
badge
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can look, you just don't have to choose...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, feel free to look at them all you want. You can choose to wait until after the dummy workers are placed before making your decision.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniele Silvi
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Test
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.