Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Doors and Reach rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Can Bud
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mb
Hmm.. here is something that I noticed while reading the RRG.

Quote:
• When attacking a door, using an ability that affects a door,
or counting spaces to a door, the door is considered to be
occupying each space with which it shares an edge.
• The spaces that share an edge with a door are the only
spaces that are considered to be adjacent to that door. When
declaring a P (melee) attack targeting a door, the attacker must
be in one of those spaces.


It is clear that a regular melee attacker needs to be next to the door.
But when a melee attacker with reach is attacking a door, she can count spaces to the space that is next to the door, which would mean that she can attack the door from what one might intuitively count as 3 spaces away!
And when a ranged attacker is next to a door, she would need an accuracy of 0. Well, this last one isn't so strange, a ranged attacker attacking a token that she is on top of would also be 0 range.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You misread. It is specifically said in your quoted text that Melee attack is only possible from the spaces where the door is. Reach does not change the attack type, so can not be used. Only ranged attack can target the space that the door is on.

You can also use Reach only to hit figures, not objects, and door is an object.

There's a whole thread about this: We can't use Reach to attack Objects after all...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, if Reach could be used, it could be used from quite a long way away.

I wouldn't say this was a misread, though, as it would be possible for Reach to override the final point that was quoted if Reach could be used with objects. The Reach rules do override a similar rule in Melee Attacks that the target must be adjacent (making no reference to Reach).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Can Bud
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mb
hmmm.. i have now read that thread and enjoyed the discussion.

that little detail about reach. that is quite confusing. as it is not an explicit exclusion of objects, but an omission of objects. it is easy to imagine it as an oversight. and as one poster mentioned in that thread, considering that most heroes already have access to ranged weaponry, i dont think that maps would be balanced around a limitation of reach for objects.

apart from that, doors + reach and doors with figures in front of it + los, these are weird.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Working on Perdition's Mouth game content
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reach can only attack (hostile) figures. Doors are objects and therefore can not be affected by reach.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeppe Tobias Hatting
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmb
We did not look up the rules for it, we just assumed that reach would allow the player to attack the door from one space further away, that seemed so intuitive us that we did not feel to look up rules for. We'll probably play the same way for attack object for simplicity sake
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.