Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Battle of Five Armies» Forums » Rules

Subject: Controlling Front Gate rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kwang Il Kim
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi?
As I know on, to remain control of a Fortification region, a player must place at least one unit there.

In Bo5F, Front Gate has a Fortification icon but a Settlement icon.
Similarly, while the Shadow player has his unit in Front Gate, does he control there?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fortifications are controlled in exactly the same way as Settlements. When a Shadow Army moves into the region, it places a Control marker there, and it remains there until a Free Peoples Army moves in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mischa A.
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I take it that if the Shadow moves into a fortification that has been abandoned (other than the Front Gate after Thorin has moved out), they benefit from the still existing fortifications? I haven't seen a clear determination in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that if a defending Army is attacked while inside a Fortification it receives the benefit of the Fortification's protection until it is broken. They make no distinction as to which side the defending Army belongs to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.