Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of questions:

1. Do knocked down mindless rats spend their entire turn standing up like mice do? Or can they stand up, move, and attack all as part of a single turn?

2. Can pets be catapulted with a fork? (Rules as written do not explicitly allow this, so I am guessing it is disallowed by default. However, it seems that it should be allowed on thematic grounds.) This can come very handy in chapter 3 where Meeps needs to make it across the room on the final tile.

3. If a caustic roach has a pet within melee range and a mouse within ranged attack range, which one takes precedence?

4. Do crystals block line of sight for ranged attacks?

5. Does chain lightning require line of sight?

If possible, please do not post mere opinions and support your answers by quotes from rules, official FAQ, or designer/playtester quotes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
5.

Quote:

Jerry Hawthorne

Mice and Mystics » Forums » Rules
Re: Is Maginos & Chain Lightening overpowered or am I missng something?
Quote:
Typhon wrote:

A wee question: does Chain Lightning require Line of Sight?

nope


2. Page iii of Heart of Glorm chapter book.

Under Pets

Quote:
"....Pets do not count as mice, but can be attacked by minions if no mouse targets are available."


Page 18 of Mice and Mystics Rulebook

Under Dinner Fork

Quote:
"...On its turn, a mouse that is sharing a space with the Dinner Fork can use an action to catapult any other mouse that is on the same space to any target space on the same tile."



Rules that describe Pets tell us that they do not count as mice. Rules for Dinner Fork say that a mouse can be catapulted.






1. Page 17 of Mice and Mystics Rulebook

Under Knocked Down

Quote:
When a figure becomes knocked down, place that figure on its side. A knocked down figure must use its entire move to get back up. Large figures cannot be knocked down. Knocked down figures can attack and defend normally.



3.

Page 16 of the Mice and Mystics Rulebook

Under Battling with a Minion.

Quote:
After moving with a minion, it attacks 1 mouse if able, following these rules:

1. If a minion can attack more than 1 mouse, it will attack the closest mouse that has not been attacked during this turn.

2. If more than 1 of those closest mice has not been attacked this turn, or if they have all been attacked this turn, the minion will attack the mouse that is highest on the initiative track.


Page iii of Heart of Glorm chapter book.

Under Pets

Quote:
"....Pets do not count as mice, but can be attacked by minions if no mouse targets are available."


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, I was totally playing #1 wrong. Thanks!

Regarding #2, don't forget slugs can cling to mice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Palmieri
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Hahma wrote:
5.
1. Page 17 of Mice and Mystics Rulebook

Under Knocked Down

Quote:
When a figure becomes knocked down, place that figure on its side. A knocked down figure must use its entire move to get back up. Large figures cannot be knocked down. Knocked down figures can attack and defend normally.



This makes mindless rats easier, maybe too easy? The card says

Quote:
Roll a die for each knocked down mindless rat at the start of its turn. On a *, stand the figure up...

This doesn't sound like recovering from being knocked down, it sounds like a special ability of mindless rats, to be able to stand up and then take their turn normally.

By the way, what's the rule for other minions that get knocked down (by Tail Sweep, for example)? If they are in the same space as a mouse, they attack while knocked down, and otherwise they have to spend their turn getting up? Or should they also attack a mouse while knocked down if adjacent to a mouse?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
[q="TenCentHead
This makes mindless rats easier, maybe too easy? The card says

Quote:
Roll a die for each knocked down mindless rat at the start of its turn. On a *, stand the figure up...

This doesn't sound like recovering from being knocked down, it sounds like a special ability of mindless rats, to be able to stand up and then take their turn normally.

[/q]

Yeah, I should have looked at the card. Been awhile since playing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Falenthal Greenleaf
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hahma wrote:
TenCentHead wrote:

This makes mindless rats easier, maybe too easy? The card says

Quote:
Roll a die for each knocked down mindless rat at the start of its turn. On a *, stand the figure up...

This doesn't sound like recovering from being knocked down, it sounds like a special ability of mindless rats, to be able to stand up and then take their turn normally.



Yeah, I should have looked at the card. Been awhile since playing it.


Been playing this wrong, then...

I made mindless rat spend a turn getting up if they rolled a *, thus being annoying, but not very dangerous.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.