Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Gamers CWBS setup naming convention rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules [+] [View All]
Lance Wilkinson

Colorado
msg tools
Avatar
mb
I have a copy of MMP/the Gamers' No Better Place to Die and can't quite make out the scenario setup instructions.

What are "Db" and "Rb" units?

E.g., Scenario 6.1 "Dawn Assault"

Union setup lists units (1-2-R) and leaders ("Johnson") but also "Db (2)" in hex 43.11 and "1-Rb (3)" in hex 39.13.

Also, how do you know which artillery units are allocated? They're not explictly listed. If their attached unit is present (e.g., the Union right wing in Scenario 6.1), does this mean all right wing arty is included?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Mosdal
United States
Hanover
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the CWBS rules:

Quote:
1.4 Set Up Notes
7. A unit ID notation followed by a
“b”—as in RWb—means an artillery battery
of that ID. Furthermore, RWb means a 5 gun
point artillery unit of RW. Should a battery be
something other than a 5 gun point unit, its
actual strength will be noted as in RWb (3).



Need more than that?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Wilkinson

Colorado
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Bob Mosdal wrote:
From the CWBS rules:

Quote:
1.4 Set Up Notes
7. A unit ID notation followed by a
“b”—as in RWb—means an artillery battery
of that ID. Furthermore, RWb means a 5 gun
point artillery unit of RW. Should a battery be
something other than a 5 gun point unit, its
actual strength will be noted as in RWb (3).



Need more than that?


D'oh. I didn't think to look in the series rules.

Thank you all the same!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Mosdal
United States
Hanover
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No problem. It's a great, great series.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Crangle
United States
Albany
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confused about "Db". I can see "1-R" as an artillery battery that is designated "1-Rb", but I can't find an artillery battery labelled "D" anywhere.

So, does D = "disorganized" or "detached"? What am I missing here?...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
Germany
Würzburg
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
It means detached, I am not sure it is even mentioned in the rules, I found out by accident when setting up a Three Battles Of Manassas scenario.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Crangle
United States
Albany
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I suspected that, but I couldn't explicitly confirm it in the rules. (Doesn't mean it's not there somewhere, it just means that I failed to find it.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Viglino
United States
Eugene
OR
flag msg tools
Slowed - BGG's moderation policies have driven me partially from here
badge
http://thegamebox.byethost15.com/smf/
Avatar
mb
I seem to remember these conventions not always being spelled out explicitly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.