Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Dust Tactics» Forums » Rules

Subject: DUST TACTICS V2 - Officers skills question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lex Talionis
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In Dust rulebook V2, P.94, concerning "reinforcements" or "replacement vehicle" we can read :

"Once an OFFICER has succeeded, the PLAYER cannot use this Action again".

Does it mean that once any of our officers has succeeded, we cannot use this skill anymore ? (even if we have other officers).

Or does it mean that each officer can use this skill only once per game ?


It's the word "PLAYER" that is confusing in this sentence...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Haglund
Sweden
Göteborg
Västra Götaland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LexTalionis07 wrote:
Does it mean that once any of our officers has succeeded, we cannot use this skill anymore ? (even if we have other officers).

Correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lex Talionis
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, is everybody ok with that ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also agree with Frankysan's answer :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lex Talionis
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An official answer on the french forum (from Olivier, a member of Dust Studio) explains that in fact, EACH officer can call reinforcements and replacement vehicle once per game.

shake

Link :
http://dust-france.bb-fr.com/t1866p15-officier-escouade-de-c...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LexTalionis07 wrote:
An official answer on the french forum (from Olivier, a member of Dust Studio) explains that in fact, EACH officer can call reinforcements and replacement vehicle once per game.

shake

Link :
http://dust-france.bb-fr.com/t1866p15-officier-escouade-de-c...


Wait...What? Wow, that changes everything.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Marlow
United Kingdom
Bridgwater
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everyone I know goes with just one of each, replacement & reinforcement per player per game.
It seems more reasonable, and if you are in rules-lawyer mode it is exactly what the latest rulebook says
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with you Chris, but it seem that the link that was posted explicitly states (on the official French forum) that this needs to be updated in a FAQ or errata for the English rule book:

LexTalionis07 wrote:


I'm not sure how I feel about this change as I haven't tried it out yet.

Personally, I believe the role of erratas and FAQs is to keep the rules alive, and adjust (evolve) them to the circumstances that come up as the game ages.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Marlow
United Kingdom
Bridgwater
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marwan_marwan wrote:


I'm not sure how I feel about this change as I haven't tried it out yet.

Personally, I believe the role of erratas and FAQs is to keep the rules alive, and adjust (evolve) them to the circumstances that come up as the game ages.


Yes I agree that it's very important to keep polishing, and tidying up the rules as people get more experience playing the game.
We play Tactics, and I get the feeling that the V2 rules were a bit of a rush job by Olivier, without a lot of play testing. To me at least, the power of anti-infantry weapons wants to be reduced by about 20% for example.

The reinforcements/replacement vehicle issue is more of a personal preference thing. I'm not a great fan of the way reserves and replacements are handled at all in Dust. I prefer reserves to be part of the points total from the start, with models waiting to come on in a slightly different way to initial deployment. Coming in on the flanks for example.
I especially don't like the reinforcment/replacement idea - you often see people deliberately not finishing off powerful units so they don't come back as replacements!
But as I say this is just personal taste, and if the one reinforcement & replacement per officer became official, we would probably stay with the present interpretation as a house rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.