Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

1856: Railroading in Upper Canada from 1856» Forums » Rules

Subject: Track laying questions (1) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pls refer to picture below... of a track heading towards Lake Huron.


Picture #1

1. The tile just below Lake Huron has two small towns therefore the track to place on top of it shud have two small town markers right?


Picture #2

2. Can we use track #56 (see pic 2) - it has two town markers - but it also has another track that starts nowhere and ends nowhere.

3. If we can't use track #56, there'll be a scarcity of tracks with two town markers, and I suppose this means players need to fight over those track tiles??

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
The build shown in #2 is legal and expected. Thre is a sub-game in placing exactly the right double-pip tile there so as to most effectively make life difficult for other players wanting to connect to that hex or on another double-pip hex where they wanted the tile you placed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Taylor-Smith
Canada
Okotoks
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fighting over scarce tracks is one of the key parts of the 'game'.

The track tiles are carefully limited as part of the game design of 1856.

After playing a number of times you'll notice the tile manifest limits the ways across the Niagara Escarpment that runs north to south in the middle of the board.

During the end game the placement of tiles earlier in the game profoundly affects the running of big Diesels. In other words place tiles with an eye towards later running of routes by companies you might have an expected interest in. If you are operating a lot of companies with large debts (ie. planned to be sunk into the Government Railroad) then it doesn't always pay to screw the Government Railroad routes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.