Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Argent: Mancers of the University» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shift, Archmage's Staff rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philip Morton
msg tools
Avatar
Shift says "Swap two mages in two different rooms." Can your swapped mage be coming from the Infirmary?

The Archmage's Staff says that a mage on the staff's slot loses all powers. Following the rule about purple/grey (A-side) mages and shadow slots, does that mean you can't fast-place a purple mage or with-a-spell-place a grey mage on the staff?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chrondeath wrote:
Shift says "Swap two mages in two different rooms." Can your swapped mage be coming from the Infirmary?

The Archmage's Staff says that a mage on the staff's slot loses all powers. Following the rule about purple/grey (A-side) mages and shadow slots, does that mean you can't fast-place a purple mage or with-a-spell-place a grey mage on the staff?


-Yes

-You can place them using the powers, being on the Staff just removes passive abilities or on-placement abilities.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Monsen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
why can shift do that? The infirmary says they can only be healed or banished (or effected by spells that specifically mention the infirmary).

shift does not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MunchWolf wrote:
why can shift do that? The infirmary says they can only be healed or banished (or effected by spells that specifically mention the infirmary).

shift does not.


The rulebook says "healed, banished, or special effect" and Shift can qualify as a special effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitko Simidchiev
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
Check out our Bulgarian board games site BigBoxGamers.com
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding that "Shift" special effect - does it work just like simultaneous movement? What I mean is, shifting an opponent into the instant-slot you had previously placed into will not trigger it, correct?

Also, the Archmage's staff is not a room, right? It cannot be Shifted into or out of?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alexmitko wrote:
Regarding that "Shift" special effect - does it work just like simultaneous movement? What I mean is, shifting an opponent into the instant-slot you had previously placed into will not trigger it, correct?

Also, the Archmage's staff is not a room, right? It cannot be Shifted into or out of?


Correct on all accounts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Harrison
United States
Greenville
SC
flag msg tools
Does shift count as movement for the purposes of reactions against 'movement' (e.g. Ancient Armor)? It has a different symbol, so my guess is no, but it works pretty much exactly like movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
coblackmagus wrote:
Does shift count as movement for the purposes of reactions against 'movement' (e.g. Ancient Armor)? It has a different symbol, so my guess is no, but it works pretty much exactly like movement.


It has a different keyword as well, "swap instead of "move", so technically no it would not trigger a Move defense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.