Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Morris
United States
Newtown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
While I'm far from a strategic expert, I've played this game quite a bit, and the more I play, the more convinced I become that you need to be entombing at least one card per turn.

Benefits of entombing every turn
1. You only score points for what is in your tomb. If you're not entombing a card on a particular turn, you've given up on scoring for that turn.
2. Deck thinning is obviously beneficial, as it allows your more powerful cards and/or card combinations to come up more frequently.
3. If you can keep entombing at the same rate as you acquire cards or faster, you'll see every card in your deck no less than once every other turn.
4. If you can keep your deck to 9 or fewer cards, you never have to worry about another player using Censer to cripple your deck strategy by removing a key card, since you'll never have a discard pile.

When I first started playing, I often thought buying a particular card from the pyramid was worth giving up my entomb for the turn. Every time I did that (especially in the early rounds), I came to regret it. Even if you're building toward some deck combo strategy, and a card you need shows up, you can usually work around it or shift strategies quickly if your deck is small enough.

Most deck builders don't provide a way to remove cards from your deck as easily, and that fact that VotK lets you do it at least once a turn makes super-small decks (5-7 cards) absolutely feasible in mid to late game. This opens up all sorts of excellent combos (causing opponents to discard all their cards, stealing cards from your opponents, taking and entombing multiple cards every turn, etc.).

Order of entombment for starter cards