Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fidelitas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trouble with Manu Forti Expansion Scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shanda Hoover
United States
Port Orchard
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played my copy twice on Saturday and we enjoyed it, but we did have a bit of trouble with the Manu Forti Expansion.

Specifically when playing to score the Scribe and the Brute the question that came up was whether the Scribe could be one of the card in the Guild pair and whether the Brute could be considered one of the 3 different Guilds.

We could not find the answer to this question in the rules or on BoardGameGeek, but we played as if the Scribe and Brute could not be used in this manner for scoring.

The Monk specifically states that you have to reveal 4 "other" cards and that seems clear, while the Commander says it counts as a Soldier "when in play" which completely confused us. Can anyone clarify this issue for me?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip duBarry
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to play the card (Scribe, Brute, etc.), THEN reveal x cards from your hand (which no longer contains the card you played). Sorry for the confusion!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David M
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pdubarry wrote:
You have to play the card (Scribe, Brute, etc.), THEN reveal x cards from your hand (which no longer contains the card you played). Sorry for the confusion!


When you play the card, do you play it to a location? Or to your VP pile (i.e. scored Missio cards)?

After you reveal cards in your hard, do you keep them or discard them?

niledesign wrote:
The Monk specifically states that you have to reveal 4 "other" cards


Can these "other" cards include Missio cards?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shanda Hoover
United States
Port Orchard
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davymast wrote:
pdubarry wrote:
You have to play the card (Scribe, Brute, etc.), THEN reveal x cards from your hand (which no longer contains the card you played). Sorry for the confusion!


When you play the card, do you play it to a location? Or to your VP pile (i.e. scored Missio cards)?


If you are playing the card for VP points they go with your scored Missio cards, but you can also play them to a location for their regular ability.

Quote:
After you reveal cards in your hard, do you keep them or discard them?


Keep them.

Quote:
niledesign wrote:
The Monk specifically states that you have to reveal 4 "other" cards


Can these "other" cards include Missio cards?


The "other" cards must all come from your hand of cards.
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pdubarry wrote:
You have to play the card (Scribe, Brute, etc.), THEN reveal x cards from your hand (which no longer contains the card you played). Sorry for the confusion!


Is this also true with the Commander? If so, then it seems like the "when in play" text should be in the ACTION half of the card instead of in the SCORING half??
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shanda Hoover
United States
Port Orchard
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
montebanc wrote:
pdubarry wrote:
You have to play the card (Scribe, Brute, etc.), THEN reveal x cards from your hand (which no longer contains the card you played). Sorry for the confusion!


Is this also true with the Commander? If so, then it seems like the "when in play" text should be in the ACTION half of the card instead of in the SCORING half??


Totally agree. Having the "when in play" text in the scoring half is completely confusing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.