Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
25 Posts

Mr. Jack» Forums » Variants

Subject: the Coach Expansion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Akke Monasso
Netherlands
Aalten
Achterhoek
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb
I bought JsP magazine, which included a small expansion for mr Jack. My French is not that good, but I think I have the rules covered:

1. the new piece, the coach, starts on the square with the statue, in the middle of the map.
2. a player may move the coach instead of the character that was activated.
3. the coach may never be moved instead of the 4th character.
4. the coach may be moved only once per turn.
5. the coach may move up to a maximum of 8 spaces
6. in its first move, it has to leave the park by one of the hexes directly to the north or south of the park.
7. afterwards it may move through the streets like any normal character, it may not move through houses, use the sewers, or exit the map.
8. if the coach enters a hex that contains a character, it may take it along with it.
9. the coach can only carry one character.
10. after movement, the character aboard the coach must exit it onto a vacant hex.
11. The character may disembark on top of another to make an accusation, but not directly on an exit to escape from the map.

Please post corrections here.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Kulkmann's G@mebox has essentially the same thing in the Essen Report:
http://www.boardgame.de/specials/messe/essen06/essen06.html

(As there are not direct links to this paragraph, please excuse me for reproducing it here.)

Frank Kulkmann wrote:
The coach starts the game at the central square with the statue (next to Jeremy Bert). A player may chose to activate the coach instead of a character, but he still must chose and discard one of the character cards during his turn. However, the coach may neither be activated two times in a row (even if the player changes), nor may it be activated instead of the fourth (and last) character in a turn.

The coach moves for a maximum of eight spaces, but it may only move through road spaces and - naturally - it may not use the manholes. On its first turn it must exit its starting square through one of the central spaces of the board (the two spaces between Holmes and Smith), and in following moves it starts off where it has stopped its last move.

Upon driving through a space occupied by a character, it may pick up the character and move on with him as a passenger. Only one character may be transported at the same time. The coach may not leave the district, and upon ending the move of the coach the player must exit a passenger into a free road space next to the coach. The passenger may not be placed directly onto a district exit, but the passenger may exit onto another character if an accusation should be made.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael T.
Austria
flag msg tools
One thing about the coach rules we weren't quite sure of and therefore asked Bruno Cathala on the joint Cathala/Faidutti/Laget-Forum (http://www.sergelaget.com/forum/index.php) was whether the empty coach could finish its move on a space occupied by a character, pick that character up and immediately let him disembark on an adjacent space.

The short answer is: No. It can't.

Just in case others might have had the same strange idea. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Eaton-Salners
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the coach an obstacle à la the gas lamps etc.?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Akke Monasso
Netherlands
Aalten
Achterhoek
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb
mitnachtKAUBO-I wrote:
Is the coach an obstacle à la the gas lamps etc.?


It acts like a character, so I think it's not an obstacle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Casadonte
United States
Media
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
The compass always points to Terrapin.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Where can those of us in the US find this expansion? What is the JsP magazine? Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Des Jeux sur un Plateau
http://www.jsp-mag.com/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Casadonte
United States
Media
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
The compass always points to Terrapin.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RPardoe wrote:
Des Jeux sur un Plateau
http://www.jsp-mag.com/


Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Ravenscroft
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
UPDATE: I had to relist the item to a newbie violation of Paypal rules in my item description - I wasn't aware that I could take credit card payments through my personal Paypal account and they just pulled my
listing with no notice.

I've relisted here: http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=4&cam...

My apologies to all who were bidding.

Andy


Quote:
I posted a new copy of Mr Jack together with the coach expansion magazine on ebay on Sunday. Currently running at $8.01 for the two: http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=4&cam...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc P
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Go Huskies!...oh, well
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, for those of us who don't speak French but would like to get our hands on the Coach (I guess I could use something from around the house, but I'm a completist), will there be a chance at a PDF so we can make our own, or perhaps the opportunity to purchase from Hurrican?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Flaherty
United States
Loves Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question:
The original post states as rule number 4 that the coach cannot move more than once per turn; however, in the description the statement only states that the coach cannot be moved twice in a row nor as the forth person. This would imply that the coach could be moved as the first and thrid person in the same turn.
Which is correct?

Thanks,
Bob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bruno cathala
France
st pierre en faucigny
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The coach can only be used one time per turn...
That means that if the first player chooses to move it instead of playing the first character, yhe coach won't be available untill beginning of the next turn
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's way too late, but for those wondering which exact issue:

http://www.jsp-mag.com/sommaire_ND.php?id=31
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Herding
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Coach expansion is also featured in the current (July/August) edition of the German magazine Spielbox. See: http://www.spielbox-magazin.de/

It costs 5,50 €, and they offer a delivery service for Germany and also for the rest of Europe (see here).

Tomorrow I'll try to grab one at the newspaper store inside the train station.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Zurfluh
United States
Cranbury
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah....awesome....cool....I am glad I am a subscriber!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yow, how much is a subscription for you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Zurfluh
United States
Cranbury
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Somewhere in the neighborhood of 70 US$ per year. I usually keep one or two freebies, read the articlesand reviews,and auction the other freebies off here on the Geek

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Libby
United States
Middletown
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a brand new copy of JSP Magazine with the Coach Expansion for sale in the BGG Marketplace. It is listed here for sale under Mr Jack since it has no place of it's own. I also consider trades for things on my want list.

Gary
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Noaceyet wrote:
Somewhere in the neighborhood of 70 US$ per year.


...and it's 6 issues per year?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Zurfluh
United States
Cranbury
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zefquaavius wrote:
Noaceyet wrote:
Somewhere in the neighborhood of 70 US$ per year.


...and it's 6 issues per year?


yes

boardsandbits.com frequently gets issues in. This way you may be able to buy individual issues

You may want to PM them
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/user/BoardsAndBits
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flix
Germany
Heidelberg
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Akke wrote:
mitnachtKAUBO-I wrote:
Is the coach an obstacle à la the gas lamps etc.?


It acts like a character, so I think it's not an obstacle.


No, it is explicitly no character!
Therefore, the coach cannot accuse a person it lands on and it is an obstacle.
No other person can enter the coach's hex and instead of Mrs. Stealthy no other person can pass over this hex.
Mr. Watson's lamp is blocked and characters next to an occupied coach do not witness each other.

Source: German Spielbox rules

Hope this clarifies some topics!

Flix
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Zurfluh
United States
Cranbury
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The coach moves 1-8 spaces....only forward. When it lands on a character, the character get into the coach...and gets off later that turn.

The coach can be moved once per round, instead of a character.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This expansion has a BGG entry now: Mr. Jack: The Carriage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Zurfluh
United States
Cranbury
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Akke wrote:

6. in its first move, it has to leave the park by one of the hexes directly to the north or south of the park.


Spielbox rules say that the first move of the carriage when leaving the park is onto one of the two hexes to the left (as seen by the inspector).
These hexes are the 2 hexes between Holes and Smith (after initial setup).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I started a FAQ for Mr. Jack: The Carriage at http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1673787#1673787. Hopefully Bruno gives it the same love and attention as this forum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.