Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Blocks in Afrika» Forums » Rules

Subject: Please check my work - Naval Combat (Punta Stilo AAR) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

First, Emanuele and company, thumbs up on the BiA rule book. With all the illustrations and examples, I found it to be excellent.

I played out the Punta Stilo scenario, to see if I've got Naval Combat right. I'm hoping someone(s) will check my work and see if I missed anything.

It begins:



The forces are facing each other, so the British BB for example is at 2 steps, as is the Itlian BB

ROUND 1

- British Air Strike, 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 3,4 ***
- 0 hits

- British BB 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 5,1 ***
- 0 hits

- Italian BB 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 6,4 ***
- 1 hit, tech bonus

- British CA 5 die
*** 5 D6 = 2,3,3,3,5 ***
- 0 hits

- Italian CA 8 die
*** x D6 = 3,4,3,3,1,3,6,1 ***
- 1 hit
- British CA (3 steps - 2 steps)

- British DD 4 die
*** 4 D6 = 6,5,1,2 ***
- 1 hit
- Italian DD (4 steps - 3 steps / Italian GU 3 steps - 2 steps)

- Italian DD (now 3 steps)
*** 3 D6 = 5,4,5 ***
- 0 hits

- British CS 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 1,3 ***
- 0 hits

- Italian CS 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 1,6 ***
- 1 hit
- Targets CV
- Deck hit, no more bombers, all combat now simultaneous
- End Round 1

The forces at the end of Round 1:



ROUND 2

- Round 2 - No airplanes so combat now simultaneous
- British BB 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 2,2 ***
- 0 hits

- Italian BB 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 2,3 ***
- 0 hits

- British CA 4 die
*** 4 D6 = 5,2,2,6 ***
- 1 hit (simultaneous rolls)

- Italian CA 8 die
*** x D6 = 2,2,3,2,1,6,3,6 ***
- 2 hits
- Italian CA (4 steps - 3 steps / Italian GU 2 steps - 1 step)
- British CA (each 2 step - 1 step)

- British DD 4 die
*** 4 D6 = 6,6,4,2 ***
- 2 hits (simultaneous)
- Italian DD 3 die
*** 3 D6 = 2,5,5 ***
- 0 hits
- Italian DD (3 steps - 1 step / Italian GU eliminated)

- British CS 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 1,4 ***
- 0 hits

- Italian CS 2 die
*** 2 D6 = 3,5 ***
- 0 hits

The Italian GU is destroyed, British victory.

The forces at game's end:



How did I do? What did I miss?

A question about marking hits on aircraft carriers. When a hit is taken during combat (not an AA hit to the air wing, but a hit to the ship itself) does that automatically mean the deck takes the first hit, so the block is rotated to its 0 step?

If a CV loses both its air steps to AA fire, does it rotate to its 1 step facing? Does it then get to fire in surface combat?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.