Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Imperial» Forums » Rules

Subject: Railroad to Dublin? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Norman
United Kingdom
Trowbridge
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the English player use the railroad to move armies between Dublin and his other home provinces? The rules don't say he can't, but railroads don't usually work well over large bodies of water...

Thanks in advance,

David.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walther Gerdts
Germany
Hamburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the hint David, you are right: There is no railroad to Dublin! Railroad is interrupted by enemy troops, or by the sea.

But there is hardly any reason to place troops there, unless all other four British cities are occupied by enemy troops...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a couple of questions in our first game about when trroops could use land movement between certain areas, and when they needed to be transported by boat.

FWIW, we thought that where two places were connected by shaded sea (Dublin/Edinburgh, Spain/Morocco, Denmark/Sweden, Turkey/Bulgaria - and just what is that "bump" of land at the south-east corner of Bularia supposed to belong to otherwise?), then ships would not be required, and troops could just travel there normally. Sounds like we were wrong. So do all four of these narrow straits require boats to cross?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walther Gerdts
Germany
Hamburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well Richard, you are right, movements should have been explained more detailed in the rules.
Dublin/Edinburgh, Spain/Morocco, Denmark/Sweden all require boats to cross.
Turkey/Bulgaria not, because there is a red borderline between them (the "bump" belongs to Turkey).
Morocco has no connection to Western Mediterranean, Algeria has no connection to Bay of Biscay (just in case there should be any doubts about it)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.