Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation:

Two separated teams. Team 1 is battling minions on their starting tile, and team 2 explores into that tile for the first time. There is a special setup (minion placement) for that tile at game start (i.e. for team 1), but no special setup rule for when team 2 explores the tile.

When team 2 explores into the tile, does that trigger a new encounter? (I.e. encounter card is drawn and new minions are placed in addition to what's already there?)

The rules state that an encounter card is drawn when a "previously unexplored tile" is explored, but it is not clear whether a tile that has mice and minions can count as "previously unexplored" or not.

PS This is the situation in Chapter 5 of HoG, but other chapters may have similar situations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sander Engels
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rbelikov wrote:
Situation:

Two separated teams. Team 1 is battling minions on their starting tile, and team 2 explores into that tile for the first time. There is a special setup (minion placement) for that tile at game start (i.e. for team 1), but no special setup rule for when team 2 explores the tile.

When team 2 explores into the tile, does that trigger a new encounter? (I.e. encounter card is drawn and new minions are placed in addition to what's already there?)

The rules state that an encounter card is drawn when a "previously unexplored tile" is explored, but it is not clear whether a tile that has mice and minions can count as "previously unexplored" or not.

PS This is the situation in Chapter 5 of HoG, but other chapters may have similar situations.

I believe a "previously unexplored tile" is used to describe a tile where you haven't been before with any party. I don't have the Glorm storybook at hand, so I can't check your specific situation, but you probably don't need to have a new encounter there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Hawthorne
United States
dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seen wrote:
rbelikov wrote:
Situation:

Two separated teams. Team 1 is battling minions on their starting tile, and team 2 explores into that tile for the first time. There is a special setup (minion placement) for that tile at game start (i.e. for team 1), but no special setup rule for when team 2 explores the tile.

When team 2 explores into the tile, does that trigger a new encounter? (I.e. encounter card is drawn and new minions are placed in addition to what's already there?)

The rules state that an encounter card is drawn when a "previously unexplored tile" is explored, but it is not clear whether a tile that has mice and minions can count as "previously unexplored" or not.

PS This is the situation in Chapter 5 of HoG, but other chapters may have similar situations.

I believe a "previously unexplored tile" is used to describe a tile where you haven't been before with any party. I don't have the Glorm storybook at hand, so I can't check your specific situation, but you probably don't need to have a new encounter there.
Correct
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.