Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Most embarrassed to note that I have asked this before but cannot recall or find the answer.blush

In general a regular soldier comes with: Three Rank Action Cards + 4 Soldier Action Cards that are "Single Action" (Look, Hide, Move and Shoot).

Some of the specialists come with more than 7 cards. Multi Action Cards, Equipment Cards, Special Action Cards, Story Cards, Etc. I am almost certain that Equipment and Story Cards do not go in the Action Deck, but that the others do. Do they replace one of the seven or are they in addition to the seven?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Martin, I don't have D-Day Sergeants but have SMG, so there are similarities for sure.

The story card/s for the specialist can be added to the story deck if you want. If I remember correctly, there was a limit of how many you could/should add though.

I'm not 100% sure, as it's been a while since seeing the thread about it, but I believe the answer was that you can put any number of the specialist cards in the action deck and that you don't necessarily have to remove other cards to put them in. I believe the reasoning for this was that it was a risk/reward thing where some specialist cards can become "dead" cards stuck in your deck once your specialist for those cards is KIA. So while more might be cool in some sense and give you more opportunities to use them, the not so cool aspect comes if your specialist is KIA and then you draw the "dead" cards and have fewer options for the game turn because you have fewer usable cards.

I can't recall it all but it was something to that effect. Hopefully Jeff B. or someone else that has a better knowledge of it can come in and give you a better answer than I tried to do.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

Hahma wrote:
The story card/s for the specialist can be added to the story deck if you want. If I remember correctly, there was a limit of how many you could/should add though.
Ooops, my memory is so bad anymore that I forgot that I read, ten minutes before posting, that the limit is three per player!

Hahma wrote:
I'm not 100% sure, as it's been a while since seeing the thread about it, but I believe the answer was that you can put any number of the specialist cards in the action deck and that you don't necessarily have to remove other cards to put them in. I believe the reasoning for this was that it was a risk/reward thing where some specialist cards can become "dead" cards stuck in your deck once your specialist for those cards is KIA. So while more might be cool in some sense and give you more opportunities to use them, the not so cool aspect comes if your specialist is KIA and then you draw the "dead" cards and have fewer options for the game turn because you have fewer usable cards.

I can't recall it all but it was something to that effect. Hopefully Jeff B. or someone else that has a better knowledge of it can come in and give you a better answer than I tried to do.
I seem to recall that you are correct - No Limit.

I also seem to recall that you only paid VP for the cards you add when/if you cutely play them from your hand.

I sure wish I could remember things better.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter
msg tools
badge
mbmb
Yes, that is all right to my reading:

Up to 3 STORY cards per SIDE can be added. (Version 1.03 SDD Rules, p26, at bottom)

0 or any number of ACTION cards can be added to your deck for the specialists -- it is your choice and there are plusses and minuses to adding them. (Version 1.03 SDD Rules, p26, end of third paragraph)

The VP "cost" is assessed when playing REACT and PREEMPT action cards, not when adding the cards to the deck. Not all specialists ACTION cards have VP costs (that is COMMAND action cards usually have no cost).

The VP "cost" of equipment is held against the scenario VP limit. Equipment VP is scored if it is captured, but only some equipment can be captured. I believe there is another thread on that topic.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Billings
United States
Upperco
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You all are doing fine here. Thanks.

Designer Comment
The rule on cards per soldiers is a minimum of 7: always the 4 core action cards, and 3 rank cards, In the case of specialist you can choose the rank action cards to play... that is always at least 3 standard action cards, In some specialist they will get a 4th or 5th standard action card that could be used in place of the soldiers other 3 action cards.

The purpose is to allow that soldier to work well WITH the squad he is serving with. It is an adaptability trait in the basic soldier design - they are rare and valuable.

Sergeants does not have collect-ability, but a soldier that is Specialist trained will reveal more of his personal character in the cards that are created for him. I don't spend a lot of time explaining this in the rules because the play mechanics are not different. But since each soldier is different the application rules does need to be explained from time to time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jaime Mayol
United Kingdom
Blandford Forum
Dorset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeff Billings wrote:

In the case of specialist you can choose the rank action cards to play... that is always at least 3 standard action cards, In some specialist they will get a 4th or 5th standard action card that could be used in place of the soldiers other 3 action cards.

Sorry I find this a bit confusing. Do you mean:

A) Exactly 3 rank cards are added to the action deck (whichever I choose).

B) At least 3 rank cards are added (so the deck can contain 4 or 5 rank cards of that soldier).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffery McCulloch
United States
Buda
TX
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mormegil_khorne wrote:
Jeff Billings wrote:

In the case of specialist you can choose the rank action cards to play... that is always at least 3 standard action cards, In some specialist they will get a 4th or 5th standard action card that could be used in place of the soldiers other 3 action cards.

Sorry I find this a bit confusing. Do you mean:

A) Exactly 3 rank cards are added to the action deck (whichever I choose).

B) At least 3 rank cards are added (so the deck can contain 4 or 5 rank cards of that soldier).


I have a soldier that has four rank cards. I get to use the four Action Cards and three of the four Rank cards. You are allowed a maximum of seven cards as your "base" soldier deck. From there, you can add ANY, REACT, PREEMPT, etc., as you see fit (if they belong to the soldier). But for each soldier in your deck there are exactly seven cards to start with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.