Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Thurn and Taxis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bonus Tile: Route Length rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean Ahern
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I build a route of length 7, can I choose to take the length 6 bonus tile instead of the 7? In my first game last night, when I built a route of length 7, the L7 Bonus tile was worth 1, and the L6 tile was worth 2. We "houseruled" that you had to take the L7 tile, even though the L6 was higher. We figured it made things a little more interesting when choosing to close your route off early or not.

Any "official" rule on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
You can take any of the tiles of length 7 or less.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1061335#1061335


EDIT: Wrong; see http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1142314#1142314 below.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Schmit
United States
Menomonee Falls
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aldaron wrote:
You can take any of the tiles of length 7 or less.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1061335#1061335

I believe this is incorrect. I don't have the English version yet and so I can't verify the rules, but at least on BSW the game is played according to Sean's house rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aldaron wrote:
You can take any of the tiles of length 7 or less.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1061335#1061335


That thread does not address this question, rather it is about the ability to take coaches. For bonus tiles, you take the longest length still available (even if it is for less points).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(Mr.) Kim Beattie
United States
Rocklin
CA
flag msg tools
Embrace your inner geek!
badge
In Flanders fields the poppies blow Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place; and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See the discussion in this thread:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/118240

I think the rules are pretty clear on this question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
Sure enough, the German rules say the same thing as the English rules:

Quote:
Bonusplättchen für Streckenlängen (5er-, 6er- oder 7er-Strecke)
Wenn die Strecke des Spielers 5, 6, 7 oder mehr Karten umfasst, erhält er vom entsprechenden Stapel das oberste Bonusplättchen.
Hinweis: Ist ein Bonusplättchen nicht mehr verfügbar, erhält der Spieler ein Bonusplättchen der nächst kürzeren verfügbaren Streckenlänge. (Damit ist es auch möglich für eine Strecke mit 8 oder mehr Karten ein Bonusplättchen zu erhalten.)

So you there's nothing about being able to take a tile for a shorter route, either because it scores more than the remaining tiles corresponding to the completed route, or as a tactic to make shorter routs less profitable. (Previous posts corrected accordingly.)

Still, since this has big implications for play, I'd like an official answer to the question (not yet addressed on the HiG FAQ).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the length bonus chits, you may only take a chit shorter than the length of your route if there are no chits availble for the size of your route.

You can only take a 6 chit when you claim a 7 route if all the 7 chits were gone. If you complete 8 route (or longer), you may claim a 7 chit, because there are no 8 chits left. (Or ever really)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.