Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deadly Sight Timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
szyby szyby
msg tools
Hello there!

This was a dealbreaker during last game with my friend:



The question is about timing of Deadly Sight. My friend claims that "after a phase begins" means you can play it during any action window during given phase. This reading of the card would allow destroying a unit right after declaring the attackers step which would make this card way too powerful.

Anyway, I disagree with this and claim Deadly Sight can be played ONLY when a phase begins and at no other time, meaning that once any further steps from the phase were taken the card that reads "after a phase begins" is no longer eligible.

Can anyone clarify this one?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Thomson
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
This is the end; hold your breath and count to ten; feel the earth move and then; hear my heart burst again
badge
"We are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are; one equal temper of heroic hearts, made weak by time and fate, but strong in will to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield." - Tennyson
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nopa
United States
Addison
Texas [TX]
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After a phase begins implies that it is done at the start of a phase before any other normal play action. If you're playing casually, it can cause issue because you generally don't always announce things.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Volpe
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card is a "reaction" event. It can be played in reaction to a phase beginning.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's covered on page 7 of the FAQ:

Quote:
A reaction ability is always used immediately after its triggering condition has occurred and has been resolved.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.