Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

XCOM: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: What to do when played wrong in Timed Phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fredrik Järnbröst
Sweden
FARSTA
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,


I have tried to find this in the forum and in the app, but to no avail.

I was wondering what to do if you discover that during the heat of the Timed Phase you played something wrong. Like put an exhausted scientist on the card that give you another interceptor and that interceptor has been put to use.

Do you leave it be? With the knowing you might win, but it will not be a clean victory.

or

Do you back the action as far as you can track it? Like in my example the interceptor goes off the board. (I guess it makes most sense to just remove one and not being able to move around the ones that are left.)
Is it possible to track everything so that you still can win and feel good about yourself?

Are there any official rules regarding this that I missed?


Kind Regards,
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Larouche
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
Melting souls with cuteness since 2007
badge
Lovin' N-16
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What you are asking is common to any boardgame, not just XCOM.

You made a mistake playing and realize it later on. What to do?

I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that. All games assume you play correctly.

... you'll therefore have to decide for yourself how to continue playing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree, it's up to the group to decide what they are comfortable with.

What I do in this sort of circumstance is can the mistake be rectified? If it can, then do that.

If it can't then rectify as much as possible and then I either add a UFO to orbit or draw and resolve an extra crisis card depending on how serious the error was. That's usually enough to discourage mistakes in the future
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe K
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do whatever makes you feel best in such situations. It´s your game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Campbell
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am with Nigel--undo the error if you can, even if it messes up your strategy for the round. If it's too late to undo it, give yourself a slight compensation. Always err to the side that is less favorable to the players--they made the mistake, after all.

(And yes, I make my share of mistakes, too.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Close
United States
Denton
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We always say "so long as you had fun, it doesn't matter how much you screwed up the rules."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For the specific example - an exhausted scientist on Interceptor Repair - my first question would be whether there's a non-exhausted scientist still in the reserve - if so, then just switch them and be done with it. Otherwise, it's a game of "what would have happened?" - if you're reasonably certain about how things would have gone if you hadn't made the mistake, then do that instead; if you're not sure, then an approximate fix - cancel one Interceptor - is probably the best you can do.

If the mistake is only discovered after it's impractical to try to undo - say when you return the Scientists to their reserve - then just live with the asterisk next to your eventual victory...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robby Timmermans
Belgium
Wellen
flag msg tools
badge
-- -- doesitplay -- --
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bucklen_uk wrote:
If it can't then rectify as much as possible and then I ... draw and resolve an extra crisis card... That's usually enough to discourage mistakes in the future

That can be quite a harsh punishment wow
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milan Mašát
Czech Republic
Praha
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
deedob wrote:
I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that.

Spacealert and tripping rule whistle
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Larouche
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
Melting souls with cuteness since 2007
badge
Lovin' N-16
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vodnyk wrote:
deedob wrote:
I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that.

Spacealert and tripping rule whistle


Of course you had to go and find the exception! angry

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
But tripping is about strategically leaving your options open, not about correcting mistakes, right? Right? whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Järnbröst
Sweden
FARSTA
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
deedob wrote:
What you are asking is common to any boardgame, not just XCOM.

You made a mistake playing and realize it later on. What to do?

I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that. All games assume you play correctly.

... you'll therefore have to decide for yourself how to continue playing.


Well, few games have a Timed Phase where players have little time to correct each other. As Vodnyk already stated with the game Space Alert that has a similar timed phase, where it is explicit what happens if you screw up.

What we plan to do is, right after the Timed Phase is done, we check that no illegal move was made. If there was an illegal move, back it as much as we can track it. If it was possible to back it all the way we continue with our heads high (and blame the loss on the player who couldn't play the game). If it is not possible to back it up, we continue playing but see it as we failed and are just in training until we can Do It Right™. It's all fun and games of course.

I would like to say thanks to all the kind people that want me and my group to just enjoy the game. Unfortunately we feel that if a rule was broken, we didn't really beat the game. We are cynics, yes we know.

Beat Normal, trying for Hard on Sunday.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
deedob wrote:
What you are asking is common to any boardgame, not just XCOM.

You made a mistake playing and realize it later on. What to do?

I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that. All games assume you play correctly.

... you'll therefore have to decide for yourself how to continue playing.

ASL has a rule for this (of course). It is rule A.2 in chapter A.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Järnbröst
Sweden
FARSTA
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattias wrote:
deedob wrote:
What you are asking is common to any boardgame, not just XCOM.

You made a mistake playing and realize it later on. What to do?

I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that. All games assume you play correctly.

... you'll therefore have to decide for yourself how to continue playing.

ASL has a rule for this (of course). It is rule A.2 in chapter A.


I tried to look it up but failed miserably (300+ pages?! only in spanish?!). Do you mind telling what it says?

Best Regards,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bananpermobil wrote:
Mattias wrote:
deedob wrote:
What you are asking is common to any boardgame, not just XCOM.

You made a mistake playing and realize it later on. What to do?

I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that. All games assume you play correctly.

... you'll therefore have to decide for yourself how to continue playing.

ASL has a rule for this (of course). It is rule A.2 in chapter A.


I tried to look it up but failed miserably (300+ pages?! only in spanish?!). Do you mind telling what it says?

Best Regards,

ASL is not available in Spanish.

The rule essentially says that all moves stand when play has progressed beyond that point. This may not be very useful in a game like XCOM where there is no opponent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Järnbröst
Sweden
FARSTA
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattias wrote:
bananpermobil wrote:
Mattias wrote:
deedob wrote:
What you are asking is common to any boardgame, not just XCOM.

You made a mistake playing and realize it later on. What to do?

I don't think there's a rule in ANY game for that. All games assume you play correctly.

... you'll therefore have to decide for yourself how to continue playing.

ASL has a rule for this (of course). It is rule A.2 in chapter A.


I tried to look it up but failed miserably (300+ pages?! only in spanish?!). Do you mind telling what it says?

Best Regards,

ASL is not available in Spanish.

The rule essentially says that all moves stand when play has progressed beyond that point. This may not be very useful in a game like XCOM where there is no opponent.


Thank you Mattias! I was trying to find the rules on ASL's bgg-page, and the only full-rules-link I could find was in spanish. Anyways, thanks for the explanation!

Best Regards,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.