Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Empires in Arms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Enemy corps starting in same area rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rasmus D
Denmark
flag msg tools
Example: Everyone is at peace, and there is a french and an austrian corps in a spanish controlled area, and they both have access. Then one declares war on the other. The "defender" cannot retreat into a castle, as it is already full of spanish troops.

Question: In the rules it only states you are forced to stop and fight when you move into an area containing enemy corps (see below), but what if you start in that area?

7.3.7.1 ENEMY CORPS OR CITY GARRISON IN AREA: If during movement a corps moves into an area containing enemy corps not in a city, the corps must cease movement and declare an attack. If enemy corps and/or garrison factors are in a city the phasing corps may continue movement or stop movement and besiege (see 7.5.4) or not, as the owning player desires. If he decides to besiege the enemy corps and forages for supply, the foraging die roll is not reduced due to unconsumed movement points (see 7.3.2). if any friendly forces in an area besiege enemy forces then all friendly forces in that area (except depot garrisons) must besiege the enemy forces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Bierschenk
msg tools
Nothing happens.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Building on what Tom said - because both corps were already present when hostilities broke out, neither "enters" the area on the turn that war is declared. The player that moves first in the turn can either move their corps out of the area and avoid combat there, or remain in the area and initiate a combat at the end of movement (per 7.5.1).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.