8 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Teen board game group ideas/suggestions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm a librarian in a small community library. I've been considering ideas for activities to involve teens in the area and of course I thought about board gaming. I was wondering if anyone else has done something similiar with a small group of teens. And if so, if anyone has suggestions for games. I don't have many 'party games' at the moment besides Apples to Apples but I'm hoping to get some more. I want to break out of the mold of 'Walmart or Target games' and try something a little more 'Euro' without getting too complex. Maybe I can try splitting the group to play multiple games at once. I don't expect much attendance at first, so games that support up to 6 or 8 players might work too. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I run a game club at the high school where I teach. We are in our 3rd year of existence. 1st year, we averaged 4 kids/week. Last year - 11. This year - 10 so far, but higher than last year's average at this point.

The most popular games for us are:

Lord of the Rings: Confrontation
Blokus
For Sale
Betrayal at House on the Hill
Ra
Runebound
Risk 2210
Bang
Lord of the Rings (Knizia)
Shadows Over Camelot
Guillotine
Jungle Speed

To a lesser extent:
Settlers of Catan
Citadels
Ingenious

The gamer-type kids in my town are very much RPG-lovers. I think that explains the high number of "adventure" type games in the above list as opposed to Euro-games. Try as I might, Carc, TtR, Princes of Florence, and Power Grid have not been big hits.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex.
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
"Agatha's letzter Wille" all the way!
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/1899