Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pax Romana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Galley squadrons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Speed Racer
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mb
I know that GS stop movement across a strait, but what if you can still move my sea. For example, say Rome wanted to invade Massena, but Carthage had a HI and a GS there. According to the rules, Rome cannot walk across the strait at Rhegium.

Can they cross by sea though?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael @mgouker
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sea transport you mean? Yes, Rome could sea transport across the strait the same way as anywhere else. 1 MP to embark, 1 to sail any number of spaces as long as you make continuation rolls, and 1 to debark.

However, if you are not accompanied by a GS of your own, when you land your army in Messana, your armies are lost. Galleys are really important in the war between Carthage and Rome and Carthage has a significant advantage in the early going.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only if they take their own GS to do a naval battle first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Answers are correct. If there's a GS in Messana and you cross by naval transport, unless you force the GS in Messana out of there (have it withdraw, force it to retreat, or destroy it), your naval transport army is lost completely. So basically, putting a GS on the other side of a strait prevents other players from crossing the strait by land or, if they don't have a GS escort, by sea.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.