Subject: Why You Should Waste More of Your Life rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colin Hunter
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Stop the admins removing history from the Wargaming forum.
mbmbmbmbmb
I've never written a game review before. I am primarily writing this to help grow the base of players for thsi game. I will do my best to be objective about the game.

Heres the low down on the game. Things you need to know initially. Basically you get to control a single important power (Rome, Carthage, Greece and the east (selucids/ptolomys) in a period stretching from 300BC to about 50BC. Each turn covers about twenty five years. Systamatically this is an Action Marker game. Your chit gets drawn you get to do stuff. Basically since each turn is about 7 years you can potentially do heaps of stuff. There is lots of chrome, don't let this put you off. The main experience of the game (for me) is not about chrome. You win by having the most VPs at the end of the game which you get by having the most territory at the end of a turn or the most cities and towns. Basically there is a balance between the need to capture territory, accomplish objectives and build towns and cities. It has lots of dice rolling and so initially I thought it would be very random.

The Good Stuff about the game.

1. The victory point system is really good. If you fall behind your never out of it as each turn there are basically the same number of vps up for grabs.

2. The balance between expansion and development is superb. Cities and towns bring power and money. Territory brings mony and VPs.

3. The balance between players is excellent. No player has the ability to defeat two other players. Except maybe rome near the end. This leads to intriguing Hobbsian political dilemas, it is essentially a game of real politque. Each power is unique and generally "feels" right, while still being fundamentally similar.