Albert Jones
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The leader of the Incan Empire very quickly went to war with his neighbouring leader of the Tribe of Chancas and earned himself the title of Pachacuti. After his stunning victory, he slowly expanded to create an empire that encompassed the entire Americas, amassing a great military war machine, just waiting for the chance to find and destroy future territories.

Across the Great River, Askia the Great of the Songhai pursued a slower and more peaceful campaign to conquer Africa, and began to expand into the great landmass of Asia.

Batu Khan, a descendant of the Great Khan, extended his rule of the Golden Horde out from the centre of Asia, west into Europe and South into China. A relentless strategy of military development, expansion and war (not to mention a little cheating at the rules) led to their easily defeating the Celts, and subjugation of the Chinese. Leading to an uneasy confrontation with Askia’s Empire slowly emerging into Asia.

Just as Askia finally secures China away from the Horde, and begins to make headway past the Himalayas, they are attacked and defeated in their original homeland of West Africa. The mighty war-machine of Pachacuti rolls over diverse areas of the world making expansion almost impossible for any other nation.

The Golden Horde learn their relentless pursuit of military might has left them severely lacking in technological development, and have to sacrifice time and energy trying to re-gain a foothold in the valuable developments awaiting them. This leaves them vulnerable to conquest by a world-hungry Inca Empire, and a struggling Songhai Empire.

The Golden Horde tries to engage in a rapid expansion plan to stave off total annihilation, but the Songhai finally managed to catch the military might of the Inca’s and both begin the dismantling of what was once a mighty empire stretching from Paris to Ho Chi Minh. Batu Khan is killed while hiding in India, leaving the Songhai to bravely continue on against the insurmountable advantages of the now world-wide Incan dynasty.

Solo Play: I am not sure if I played correctly; please correct me if I am wrong?

Set-Up: King Blue (Argentina), Noble Yellow (China), Noble Green (Mali), Chieftain Red (Venezuela), Chieftain Purple (Europe) and I was Player Grey (Russia), adviser: Schliemann. [Wonders: Persepolis, Ziggurat, Stonehenge]

Turn 1: PLAYER GREY (start with 2 cubes in hand and 1 vp) TABLE: n/a
Art -1 c. (cube) {Persepolis}
(2)Military (Mil) + wonder -1+1 c.
Raid +1 c. {Russia to China}
(2)Technology (Tech) -1 c. {get war card}
Expand -1 c. {Russia to China}
War +2 vp {China -1 c.: eliminated yellow}
Revolution (Rev) + Mil (recovered) = s2 c. -3 c. +2 c. = +1 c. (=3 vp)
KING BLUE 1.war: n/a 2.expand/war {Argentina to Venezuala, n/a} 3.art
Ziggurat +1 vp 4.Tech +1 vp 5.Mil +1 vp (=3 vp)
NOBLE YELLOW ELIMINATED 0 vp
NOBLE GREEN 1.war: n/a 2.tech/mil 3.mil +1 vp 4.exp/war {Nigeria to S. Africa, n/a} (1 vp)
CHIEFTAIN RED 1.art: stonehenge +1 vp 2.tech/mil 3.mil +1 vp (=2 vp)
CHIEFTAIN PURPLE 1.tech +1 vp 2.war:n/a 3.tech/mil (=1 vp)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player +1 c. recover WAR+EXPAND [**INCORRECT RULE USE] Should have been oldest card {ART + RAID}.

Turn 2: PLAYER GREY (s1 c. & 3 vp) TABLE: Art, Raid, Tech
(3)Mil + wonder -1 +1 c. {recover one card: TECH} [**INCORRECT RULE USE]
Should have been oldest card {ART}
Expand -1 c. {Russia to Europe}
War +2 vp {Europe -1 c.: eliminated purple}
Rev + Mil = s1 c. -2 c. +1 c. = 0 c. (2+3=5 vp)
KING BLUE 1.mil +1 vp 2.art +1 vp 3.tech +1 vp 4.exp/war {Venezuela to Mexico: eliminate Chieftain Red} +2vp 5.war: n/a (5+3=8 vp)
GREEN NOBLE 1.exp/war {S. Africa to Egypt} 2.tech +1 vp 3.art +1 vp 4.mil +1 vp (3+1=4 vp)
CHIEFTAIN RED ELIMINATED 2 vp
CHIEFTAIN PURPLE ELIMINATED 1 vp
TERRITORY BONUS: Player 4+3+2=9+5 = 14; recover +2 c. WAR & EXPAND [**]
Blue 4+3+2=9+8 = 17; Green 3+1+1=5+4 = 9
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player 0+14=14; Blue 1+17=18; Green 1+9=10
{WONDERS: Giza, Great Wall, Hanging Garden}

Turn 3: PLAYER GREY {s2 c. & 14 vp} TABLE: Art, Raid
(3)Trade {Green +2 vp}
(4)Tech -1 c. {gain Advisor: Bismark}
(4)Mil + wonder -1+1 c. {recover +1 c.}
Rev + Trade = s2 c. -2 c. +2 c. = 2 c. (2+14=16 vp)
KING BLUE 1.tech/mil 2.war:n/a 3.mil +1 vp 4.tech +1 vp 5.art {Giza}+1 vp (3+18=21)
NOBLE GREEN 1.mil +1 vp 2.exp/war +2 vp {Egypt to China(15):-1 c. player} 3.tech/mil 4.tech +1 vp (4+2+10=16)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player 1+16=17 recover MIL & TECH [**]; Blue 2+21=23; Green 2+16=18

Turn 4: PLAYER GREY {s2 c. & 17 vp} TABLE: Art, Raid
Exploit +2 c.
(5)Trade {Green +2 vp}
(6)Mil + wonder -3+1 c. {recover +1 c.}
(6)Tech -1 c.
Expand +1c. -1c. {China to Thailand}
Bismark: (7)Mil
Rev + Art = s2 c. -5 c. +5 c. = 2 c. (=17)
KING BLUE 1.tech +1 vp 2.exp/war {Mexico to USA} 3.tech/mil 4.war:n/a 5.mil +1 vp (2+23=25)
NOBLE GREEN 1.exp/war {Egypt to India} 2.tech/mil 3.war:n/a 4.mil +1 vp (1+2+18=21)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player 2+17=19 recover TRADE & MIL [**] +2 c.
Blue 3+25=28; Green 2+21=23 {WONDER: Colosseum, Alhambra, Rapa Nui}

Turn 5: PLAYER GREY {s4 c. & 19 vp} TABLE: Raid, Exploit, Tech, Expand
Art -1 c. {Rapa Nui}
(7)Trade {Green +2 vp}
(9)Mil + wonder -3+1 c. {recover: EXPAND} [**]
Expand +1c.-1c. {China to Russia}
War +2 vp {China -1 c.: Green}
Rev + Mil = s4 c. -5 c. +2 c. = 1 c. (2+19=21 vp)
KING BLUE 1.tech/mil 2.mil +1 vp 3.war: n/a 4.art +1 vp Colosseum 5.expand/war +2 vp {Navigation to Nigeria: highest value -1 c. Green} (4+28=32)
NOBLE GREEN 1.war: n/a 2.mil +1 vp 3.art +1 vp Alhambra 4.tech/mil (2+2+23=27)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player 3+21=24 recover WAR & EXPLOIT [**]
Blue 3+32=35; Green 3+27=30

Turn 6: PLAYER GREY {s1 c. & 24 vp} TABLE: Raid, Tech, Art, Trade, Expand
Exploit + wonder +2 c. + 1 vp {-1 from Thailand: -1 vp}
(10)Mil + wonder -1+1 c.
Expand +1c. -1c. {China to India} [** not sure why I have this card to play?]
War +2 vp {India: -1 c. green}
Rev + Exploit = s1 c. -2 c. +4 c. = 3 c. (3-1+24=26 vp)
KING BLUE 1.mil +1 vp 2.exp/war {America to Australia: empty} 3.art +1 vp 4.tech/mil 5.war: n/a (2+35=37)
NOBLE GREEN 1.art +1 vp 2.tech +1 vp 3.war: n/a 4.mil +1 vp (3+30=33)
TERRITORY BONUS: Player: 2+3+4+2=11; Blue: 4+3+2+1+3+2=15; Green: 1+1=2
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player 3+11+26=40 recover +1 c. RAID & TECH [*following rules now]; Blue 3+15+37=55; Green 3+33=36 NOTRE DAME, CIRCUS MAXIMUS, OXFORD UNIVERSITY

Turn 7: PLAYER GREY {s4 c. & 40 vp} TABLE: Art, Trade, Mil, Expand, War
(8)Tech -1 c. {gain Advisor: BACH}
Exploit + wonder +2 c. {-1 from China: -3 vp} +1 vp
Rev + Tech = s4 c. -1c. +2c. = 5 c. (1+-3+40=38)
KING BLUE 1.war: n/a 2.exp/war {America to China: empty} 3.tech +1 vp 4.tech/mil 5.art +1 vp Notre Dame (2+55=57)
NOBLE GREEN 1.exp/war {Egypt to Thailand: empty} 2.war: n/a 3.tech/mil 4.mil +1 vp (1+36=37)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player 3+38=41 recover ART & TRADE; Blue 5+57=62; Green 5+37=42

Turn 8: PLAYER GREY {s5 c. & 41 vp} TABLE: Mil, Expand, War, Exploit
Art -3 c. Circus Maximus & Oxford University
(9)Tech + wonder -1 c. +1 vp
(10)Trade {+1 vp: Green}
Rev + Exploit = s5 c. -4 c. = 1 c. (1+41=42)
KING BLUE 1.mil +1 vp 2.tech +1 vp 3.exp/war +2 vp {America to Russia: -1 c. Player} 4.art +1 vp 5.war: n/a (5+62=67)
NOBLE GREEN 1.art +1 vp 2.tech +1 vp 3.tech/mil 4.war: n/a (2+1+42=45)
TERRITORY BONUS: Player 2+2=4; Blue 1+2+3+4+3+3+4+2=22; Green 1+1+1=3
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player Grey 3+4+42=49 recover MIL & EXPAND +2 c; Blue 5+22+67=94; Green 5+3+45=53 CHICHEN ITZA, FORBIDDEN CITY, ANGKOR WAT [*wrong stack of wonders]

Turn 9: PLAYER GREY {s2 c. & 49 vp} TABLE: War, Art, Tech, Trade
Advisor: take FORBIDDEN CITY wonder
Exploit + wonder + wonder +2 c. +2 vp
(12)Mil + wonder -3 c. +1 c.
Expand +1 c. -1 c. {China to Thailand}
Rev + Expand = s2 c. -4 c. + 3 c. = 1 c. (2+49=51)
KING BLUE 1.art +1 vp Chichen Itza 2.war: n/a 3.tech +1 vp 4.exp/war: n/a {no cubes left} 5.mil +1 vp (3+94=97)
NOBLE GREEN 1.exp/war +2 vp {Egypt to Europe: -1 c. Player} 2.art +1 vp Angkor Wat 3.tech/mil 4.war: +2 vp Thailand {-1c. Player} (5+53=58)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player Grey 5+51=56 recover WAR & ART; Blue 5+97=102; Green 5+58=63

Turn 10: PLAYER GREY {s1 c. & 56 vp} TABLE: Tech, Trade, Exploit, Mil
Expand +1 c. -1 c. {China to Europe}
Rev + Expand = s.1 c. -1 c. +1 c. = 1 c.
KING BLUE 1.exp/war: n/a {no cubes} 2.war: n/a 3.art +1 vp 4.tech/mil 5.mil +1 vp (2+102=104)
NOBLE GREEN 1.exp/war + 2 vp {Egypt to India; Europe -1 c. Player} 2.tech +1 vp 3.tech/mil 4.art +1 vp (4+63=67)
TERRITORY BONUS: Player Grey 0; Blue 1+2+3+4+3+3+4+2=22; Green 2+1+1+1=5
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player grey 5+0+56=61 recover TECH & TRADE +1 c; Blue 5+22+104=131; Green 5+5+67=77 TOUR EIFFEL, SAN PIETRO, LOUVRE

Turn 11: PLAYER GREY {s2 c. & 61 vp} TABLE: Exploit, Mil
(11)Trade {+1 vp: Green}
Art -1 c. Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel +2 c.
(13)Tech + wonder -3 c. recover ART +1 vp [incorrect recover rule]
Art -3 c. Louvre & San Pedro [forgot to spend cubes for Tech, so just plain cheating here]
Tourism: 8 wonders + wonder + wonder + 2 vp + 1 vp +1 c.
Advisor Schliemann recover MIL & EXPLOIT
Exploit + wonder + 2 c. + 1 vp
(14)Mil + wonder + wonder -3c. +1 c. + 1 vp + 1 c. {bonus from mil level 12}
Expand +1 c. -1 c. {China to Europe}
Rev & Expand = s2 c. -11 c. +8 c. = -1 c. [because of cheat, I didn’t notice, had 2 c.]
(6+61=67)
KING BLUE 1.expand/war: n/a {out of cubes} 2.war: n/a 3.mil +1 vp 4.art +1 vp 5.tech +1 vp (3+131=134)
NOBLE GREEN 1.war: +2 vp Europe {-1 c. Player} 2.art +1 vp 3.mil +1 vp 4.exp/war: no cubes to expand, +2 vp India {-1 c. Player: Eliminated} (6+1+77=84)
GOVERNMENT BONUS: Player - Eliminated = 67 (in the game I had myself at 74 vp??) recover TRADE & TECH; Blue 5+134=139; Green 5+84=89

Turn 12: PLAYER GREY - ELIMINATED

Final Scores in the actual game (scores in this guide was corrected): military/technology
Upon review, small corrections of mistakes in scoring:
King Blue 139 level 16/14; Noble Green 89 level 16/13; Player Grey 67 level 14/13
My in-game scoring:
King Blue 108 level 16/15; Noble Green 97 level 16/14; Player Grey 74 level 14/12

Final analysis: It has taken me almost a week to digest this report, think it through, organize, count and re-count this review (not all the time, a little bit each day). It expresses one of the detractions of the game played solo - it is fiddly with many things to remember. I found in my game, I would miss the bonuses on the edge of the board, give cubes, take them back reconsidering, put in again, back track, etc. Obviously, a large function of this is my inexperience, and multiple rule checks. Which brings me to complaint number two; the rules are not great. I had to go to BGG forums a couple times to resolve an issue, and often was left unclear as to the way to proceed. I discovered there that having one king is a bad idea! On the positive side, it was a brain burner. The little map in the right-hand corner was a lot more exciting and interesting than I thought it would be. I am very curious to play the game again and try to do a little better at both winning the game and playing by the rules. Second play coming soon!






4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Albert,

Welcome to the Forum and thanks for the very detailed play-through. I'm away from my board at the moment, but feel as though to provide you any feedback, I'll need to set-up the board and follow the exact pattern laid out above. One initial observation is that you don't garner any VPs for set-up and only calculate territory based VPs during the 2nd and 4th turn of each era.

Someone else may come along to provide some thoughts in the interim, but I'll get back to you a bit later. I'm surprised to hear you had difficulty with the rules. I'm a Game Developer, and admittedly I see many more very rough drafts of rules, and felt Marco and his English translator did a respectable job.

One final initial observation, to which you've commented...you almost need to have one more King in the game. I've recently played a dozen games (which I still need to post my full analysis) and found that playing against five Noble Civbots isn't all that difficult, but the addition of one King can prove devastating.

That's it for now. Again, in the days ahead, I'll set-up and play through the game as you've described it here.

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albert Jones
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the first space of the board, it has a 1vp symbol so my thought was that you start there and, therefore, you start with one vp? Not confident in that interpretation but that was the thinking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Albert,

I've played through the game based on your write-up. Some of the annotations were hard to follow, but overall it tracked fairly well. It does appear as though you were stopped in a few locations which explains your sub 70 score. Two factors were at play...first, the dominant King had managed to acquire a number of territories. Second, as it was your first game, you weren't familiar enough with some of the synergistic effects from particular card combinations.

Unfortunately, without complete knowledge of the World Map, I can only hint at making certain assumptions, and by extension, recommendations for future play. One, definitely don't choose a high numbered starting location if you're playing with King Civbots as you'll become an early target. I've now played over 40 games, many with exclusively Noble Civbots, and it's during Era II when I start to advance on the leader(s). Two, use your Wonders well, and you'll reap a number of VP along the way. To that end, take full advantage of purchasing two Wonders as late-game Wonders require you to discard Wonders to activate them. Three, where you can't go to War, use the Raid card to great effect. Later in the game, you're garnering 2 VP and recovering 2 Cubes...that's significant...sometimes more so than going to War. Finally, use the Trade Card well, and you won't need to spend Cubes on Tech, and if you're well-positioned you can keep your neighbor under control with the occasional Raid.

Hope you're still enjoying the game and look forward to the next Session Report.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albert Jones
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the update. The idea of good card combinations has me intrigued. Now that you mention it, starting with a low number, or at least expanding into a low number early on would be good, but don't they go after a player first and only empty if no player is lower on military? I am still also curious about the 1 vp on the board on space 1-1. Doesn't that mean I start with 1 vp? Finally, the raid does sound more powerful than I was giving it credit for and will try it more often in a future game. Hoping to play again soon...will try your suggestions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian St. John
msg tools
Ldayjones wrote:
Now that you mention it, starting with a low number, or at least expanding into a low number early on would be good, but don't they go after a player first and only empty if no player is lower on military?


CivBots will always try to take the high value territories and they don't discriminate between empty spaces and those occupied by entities with a lower military.

The only point in which bots are prejudiced against humans is when they decide between multiple possible targets of a War Action. They will attack the entity with the most Victory Points and only if there is a tie, they will prefer to pick on human players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albert Jones
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Loanstar wrote:
CivBots will always try to take the high value territories and they don't discriminate between empty spaces and those occupied by entities with a lower military.


I re-read the rules, and thank you for your assessment. I was mis-playing and having them choose the highest value territory of those occupied by entities wit a lower military - and was playing wrongly.

I think I am ready to try this game again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.