Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking nothing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart Fern
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If your figure has no target, can it attack nothing (or at least a wall or something) in order to gain surges to recover health or fatigue from abilities.

I'm just thinking of my eweb last night that was shot at by a clever rebel player that I couldn't shoot back at. I took damage and was counting on my counter attack to recover some health, but I couldn't.

Thanks heaps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Fern
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On top of that I have a question about what happens if your attack fails. When I used to play Descent I remember that you had to actually damage the target in order for other effects to take place. For instance can you recover health or gain focus as a surge ability if you didn't have enough accuracy. Or can you use blast or cleave if your damage dealt was beaten by the defence die.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Forster
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference Guide, page 5, Attacks wrote:
When a figure performs an attack, it resolves the following steps:
1. Declare Target: Based upon its attack type ((melee) or (ranged)), the figure
performing the attack (referred to as the attacker) declares one
eligible target for the attack (referred to as the target).
- For a melee attack (melee), an eligible target is any hostile figure
adjacent to the attacker. For a ranged attack (ranged), an eligible
target is any hostile figure within line of sight of the attacker.


You can't even get out of step 1 without a hostile figure in line of sight.

As to your second question:

RRG, page 6, Attacks wrote:
The keyword abilities Blast and Cleave, and any keyword that
causes a condition, all require the target of the attack to suffer
one or more (damage) to trigger.


so.. some stuff can trigger off of a miss (Healing, mostly), but specifically not Blast or Cleave or anyhing that applies a Condition (including Focus for yourself or an ally).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed fully with the above. You must have a valid target to perform an attack and you need damage to be done (after all modifiers) for Blast, Cleave and Conditions, but other abilities don't need it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hal Martin
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Love my Oilers!
badge
I miss my boy :(
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As well, you can only use 1 surge per attack to recover a strain (or HP if no strain).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Working on Perdition's Mouth game content
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the rest action would work better for regaining strain than any attack. Such action would make more sense in Descent, where it is forbidden as well, because there is a need of a healer.

You can attack hostile figures and objects specified by scenarios. You can not attack friendly figures.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.