Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Support Table rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I rolled on the support table.

I like to choose the 10 Radio but

in the scenario ( No Ingouf Around ) this Radio is about to come as reinforcements.

a)Can I get it from the Time track earlier?

b) What if a different Radio was rolled on the Support Table?
Could I take it from the Support and ignore the one in the reinforcement track?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter
msg tools
badge
mbmb
on b),

8.1.2 Radios—Only one Radio may be
stacked in each of the two Artillery Boxes:
one per player. The first such Radio takes
precedence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think it's "available" if it's sitting on the Time track waiting to come in as a reinforcement. You would have to pick something else. Same thing would be true of a leader if that leader were already in the game, even if he were a casualty or future reinforcement.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Emil 109 wrote:
I rolled on the support table.

I like to choose the 10 Radio but

in the scenario ( No Ingouf Around ) this Radio is about to come as reinforcements.

a)Can I get it from the Time track earlier?

b) What if a different Radio was rolled on the Support Table?
Could I take it from the Support and ignore the one in the reinforcement track?


My answers are:
a) No
b) Yeah, so? Yes, that is good. As others noted, you then would not get the 10 Radio unless your Radio had been Artillery Denied twice!

Regarding my first answer, I had to go to the Pacific Glossary to get a clear answer.
Combat Commander: Pacific Glossary: Countermix wrote:
All counters not currently being used either on the map or Track Display.


I couldn't find a reference in the European Rules, but I think that CC: Pacifc is meant to explicitly spell out things that are assumed in CC: Europe/Med. (My opinion, not verified.)

Anyway, if you accept my premise, then you cannot take it from the Track Display. However, if you want to play strict RAW, I would argue that you can actually take Reinforcements from the map! I am being purposefully extreme so that people can disprove this theory. I do NOT endorse it, in any case. I'm just saying that if my premise is wrong, one could logically conclude that the extreme opposite is true.

For proof, I give you the Reinforcement Rule:

Combat Commander: Europe Rules: E68. Reinforcements wrote:

“If the General insists on my counterattacking immediately then I must insist on receiving some armor and artillery assets sooner than immediately.”
—Colonel Melvin Hale

When this Event occurs, the receiving player performs the following steps:
1) Make a roll on his nation’s Support Table;
2) From the column matching the roll, select one item – at no cost – that is available for that scenario’s year;
3) If a Radio is selected, he places it in his (empty) Artillery Box. If a unit is selected, he places it (along with its Weapon, if any) into any hex along his friendly board edge. Stacking limits [8] must be observed, and the unit cannot be placed in an impassable hex (such as a Blaze or Water Barrier).


I don't see anywhere in this Event Rule that says you must choose a unit from the Counter mix. Now, how would I justify a unit mysteriously disappearing just as a similar unit comes up to reinforce the ongoing battle? Well, I can't, which is why I go with the Pacific definition of Countermix!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The official CC FAQ clarifies that reinforcements must come from the unused countermix, not from the track.
7 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanx guys !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HEEREN Xavier
Belgium
Liège
Lièe
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I haven't the rulebooks here, but, can a player play a artillery denied order on HIS radio, to break it ?
and hope receive a better one with a reinforcement event later ????

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmoipap wrote:
I haven't the rulebooks here, but, can a player play a artillery denied order on HIS radio, to break it ?
and hope receive a better one with a reinforcement event later ????


(The rules PDF is downloadable.)

rules wrote:
When an Artillery Denied Order is given,
that player simply causes his opponent’s
Radio [12] to break.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmoipap wrote:
I haven't the rulebooks here, but, can a player play a artillery denied order on HIS radio, to break it ?
and hope receive a better one with a reinforcement event later ????



Given Russ's official answer, I'll give you the silly response....

So then that would mean that your opponent could fix it after the first Artillery Denied with HIS Artillery Request!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes your artillery is a great help to your opponent... soblue
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.