Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Spy Guys» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Chi Chemist cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Underwood
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that after separating out cards, dealing 4 cards to each player, then adding the separated cards back in I should have 28 cards to place on the table in 4 rows of 7 cards. I seem to have 3 cards too many. Since the Chi Chemist cards are printed in gray shades rather than in black are they not used in the game? If I remove these 3 cards then the count of 28 cards is correct. If these cards are not to be used, what purpose do they serve? I see nothing in the rules about these cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tovarich Pizann
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Larry,

Tovarich Pizann (game designer) here.

The purpose of the pre-game separation of the cards is to ensure that no player gets an early advantage by starting with any Mission Objectives or Contacts in their hand. The Chi Chemist is a mission objective, and as such is absolutely included in the game.

At a guess I'd say you were playing with less than 6 players, and for one of the unused players removed their contact but did not remove their objectives. That's the most likely way you get 3 cards left over. How large was the game?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Underwood
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have gone back through the cards again and I found where I was confused. I was placing the Chi Chemist cards in with the "cards with black borders" instead of their correct location with the Mission Objectives. So I'm straight now. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.