Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

Fief: France 1429» Forums » Rules

Subject: Game Start- a Lord and no other cards in hand? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Douglas S
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All Players Game Start- a single Lord and no other cards in hand?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duglis wrote:
All Players Game Start- a single Lord and no other cards in hand?


You get 1 Lord, 3 Men-at-arms, 1 Knight, 5 deniers and 1 Stronghold which you place in the village you want (choose it wisely).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas S
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right...So on Turn 1, the first player will have some cards that can't be countered so to speak?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Koenig
United States
Alexandria
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duglis wrote:
Right...So on Turn 1, the first player will have some cards that can't be countered so to speak?

Can you elaborate?
Everyone will draw cards in the draw phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duglis wrote:
Right...So on Turn 1, the first player will have some cards that can't be countered so to speak?


No, everybody gets to draw before anyone may play a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sdric
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mb
he can play an assassination...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas S
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
right. ok. my bad. I shouldn't post things at 6-7 am after waking at 3 am for some silly reason. sorry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdric wrote:
he can play an assassination...


You sadisitc arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom cap
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdric wrote:
he can play an assassination...


Unless I'm mistaken, he can't, since you can't play a card during the draw phase.

He'll have to wait for the next phase, when everybody has drawn cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Wallace
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rather than posting questions after little sleep, try actually reading the rules.

The question is completely covered there, and they may help put you back to sleep.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sdric
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mb
tomfromparis wrote:
sdric wrote:
he can play an assassination...


Unless I'm mistaken, he can't, since you can't play a card during the draw phase.

He'll have to wait for the next phase, when everybody has drawn cards.


My mistake, you are right.

I was thinking that it could play it during the discard phase of the player 2. But I reread the rules and it states that you can play an opportunity card during the discard phase instead of discarding it. So only during your discard phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom cap
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well if there's 2 sub-phases, doesn't this mean everybody discards and then everybody draws?
At least it's the way we played it. Not discard + draw for each player one after the other.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Shafer
United States
Hedgies Hang
flag msg tools
designer
"It is a pity we so often succeed in our endeavors to deceive each other." -Empress Irene
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdric wrote:
he can play an assassination...


...and gain a justice token and forever have his noble live in fear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
French rule : "chaque joueur peut défausser, puis piocher". There's no subphase cut x.y like some rules, so you discard, then you draw and next player does the same.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom cap
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point.
I don't know if it's a big deal for the game anyway.

Just out of curiosity: Doesn't the French board show 2 different steps in the discard draw phase? It does on the English version.

This would be huge. Different rules AND different boards.

Maybe we should make different pages on BGG:
- French rules Fief France 1429 out of the box,
- English rules Fief France 1429 out of the box,
- French rules Fief France 1429 with rules explained by Philippe Mouchebeuf,
- English rules Fief France 1429 with rules explained by Uwe Eickert,
- etc.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tomfromparis wrote:
Good point.
I don't know if it's a big deal for the game anyway.

Just out of curiosity: Doesn't the French board show 2 different steps in the discard draw phase? It does on the English version.

This would be huge. Different rules AND different boards.

Maybe we should make different pages on BGG:
- French rules Fief France 1429 out of the box,
- English rules Fief France 1429 out of the box,
- French rules Fief France 1429 with rules explained by Philippe Mouchebeuf,
- English rules Fief France 1429 with rules explained by Uwe Eickert,
- etc.


There should be ONE official rule. Then some variants if people want to play another way, now this becomes crazy...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom cap
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree 100%.
I was merely trying to joke.
Apparently I failed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tomfromparis wrote:
I agree 100%.
I was merely trying to joke.
Apparently I failed.


arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gab Pal
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
The best games ingeniously blend Euro and Ameritrash styles
badge
THE CAKE IS A LIE !!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I got it right away.
Don't worry, you were funny.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom cap
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well... Someone had to get it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.