Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Citadels» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happened if you have both Keep and Smithy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zijie Qu
msg tools
Keep you can discard one district card to get one gold.

Smithy you can use 2 golds to buy 3 district cards.



If you have both of them......

You may get all the cards and golds.......


How to explain this????

DDDD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
qzj910114 wrote:
Keep you can discard one district card to get one gold.

Smithy you can use 2 golds to buy 3 district cards.



If you have both of them......

You may get all the cards and golds.......


How to explain this????

DDDD

Only if the other players let you take enough turns (and don't steal your money or cards).

Firstly, I am assuming that you mean Laboratory and not Keep.

Secondly, both Laboratory and Smithy say "Once during your turn, you may ..."

So yes, if you have both you can discard one District card to get a gold, and then pay that gold plus one more to draw three district cards. But that is all until the next turn. If you get to do that enough turns in a row to get all the gold and cards then the other players are not playing well enough.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zijie Qu
msg tools
So that means both Smithy and Lab can be used only ONCE in your turn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's in the text on both cards. Well in the current English edition anyway, and I'm fairly confident they are correct as anything else creates an infinite loop!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The original version of the Smithy was Pay _3_ gold to get _2_ cards. Still quite useful, but less stupid-good.
Some groups play as if it's the 'old' version because it is more balanced that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.