Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Storms of Steel! – Kursk 1943» Forums » Rules

Subject: Group Activation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roger Reisinger
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Need some clarification:

Can you use CAPs for group activation?

When using CAPs for group activation, it doesnt actually activate any units?

A group is any units that are all adjacent?

EG: in Wounded Tiger, can the soviet player use group activation using CAPs to move the entire tank glob forward 6 spaces, then activate each tank individually and conduct their activation as normal?

Seems very tough for the Tiger to survive.

Thx!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, yes and yes. Actually, sometimes it is a good way to get your units going while postponig the decision which one to activate.

EDIT: You may want to keep very slow units out of the group as they would gobble up your CAPs.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Saad
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lowecore wrote:

Seems very tough for the Tiger to survive.

Thx!


Yes, this is a tough one for the Germans. An experienced Soviet player should(will)eliminate the tiger.
The Germans however can make up the 4 point loss and then some, they have the armor to make it a very costly mission for the Soviets, maybe even gain a victory.




1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
United States
Santee
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Something that I didn't initially pick up on is that you can intersperse individual and group actions. So I can activate a guy, move him adjacent to a machine gun, fire with both, and keep moving him forward after that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dandechino wrote:
Something that I didn't initially pick up on is that you can intersperse individual and group actions. So I can activate a guy, move him adjacent to a machine gun, fire with both, and keep moving him forward after that.


Yeah but then that machine gun is going to be spent (if you use APs for the group action). If it's a German LMG with 2 AP to fire, you will lose two additional shots with that unit. but it can be useful.

Edit: clarification in parentheses
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
Lowecore wrote:
Can you use CAPs for group activation?

No. You can use CAPs to perform an action with a group though.

Lowecore wrote:
When using CAPs for group activation, it doesnt actually activate any units?

Of course not: activation has nothing to do with CAPs, just with APs.

Lowecore wrote:
A group is any units that are all adjacent?

Almost. A group is simply any set of units performing an action together. In order to perform an action together all units must indeed be contiguous, but some actions (e.g. Fire) have additional requirements.

There's really no distinct concept of groups as such; it's just that a group can have one unit in it, or several.

Another point of confusion is "activation" and "activating". "Activation" just means "can use AP to pay for an action"; or, more precisely, in order to use AP to pay for an action, the acting group must consist entirely of activated units.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.