Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pixel Tactics 2» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ongoing orders: how long do they remain active? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The living rules indicate that Ongoing Orders must be "turned at the end of each of your turns" (and get discarded after some time). Now, neither these or the PDF rules mentions the word "turn": they only define "wave" and "round" (made of 3 waves).

So, what is the "card turning rule" for Ongoing Orders: do you turn them at the end of each wave, or of each round? The picture in the living rules hints at "wave", but an official confirmation would be great.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel DeMars
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unfortunately, this isn't clear from the current iteration of the rules (hopefully, with the release of Pixel Tactics Deluxe, we'll get updated rules). However, I can confirm the following:

Each wave involves both players taking one turn - so the first player will take their turn, then the second player will take their turn, then casualties are checked etc. So, if you play an ongoing order, that order will rotate at the end of each of your turns.

Incidentally, with the release of Pixel Tactics Deluxe, counters/tokens will be introduced that will make tracking ongoing orders easier, though the net effect will be the same.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Brisendine
United States
Stephenville
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Stop it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card turning rule is for ongoing orders from Pixel Tactics 3. The PT2 ongoing orders indicate how long they last on the orders themselves.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you guys, this is very useful information!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel DeMars
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Turnabout wrote:
The card turning rule is for ongoing orders from Pixel Tactics 3. The PT2 ongoing orders indicate how long they last on the orders themselves.


This is because the rules for Ongoing Orders was updated between PT2 and PT3 - it is intended that the updated ruling override the card text on original-printing PT2 cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeinadColtrane wrote:
the rules for Ongoing Orders was updated between PT2 and PT3 - it is intended that the updated ruling override the card text on original-printing PT2 cards.
For reference: the "rotate card" rule is in my first edition PT2 printed rules (the cards do not mention any limit, except for one card that mentions that the effect takes places when the Ongoing Order is discarded), so owners of this edition don't need to worry about such an erratum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lebigot wrote:
Neither these or the PDF rules mentions the word "turn".
I found the official reference: the answer is in the printed rules that came with the game:
Quote:
Each wave consists of two turns (one per player).
In addition to defining "turn" (something that the electronic rules don't do), this answers the initial question about an Ongoing Orders.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.